|
America Online, Inc. v. Avrasya Yayincilik Danismanlik
Ltd.
[Indexed as: America Online v. Avrasya]
[Indexed as: americanonline.com et al.]
The National Arbitration Forum
Administrative Panel Decision
Forum File No. FA0002000093679
Commenced: 11 February 2000
Judgment: 16 March 2000
Presiding Panelist: Irving H. Perluss
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Trademark -
identical - Confusingly similar - bad faith - legitimate noncommercial
or fair use - knowledge - intent to deceive
Complainant is the owner of numerous trademark registrations worldwide
for the mark AMERICA ONLINE, registered on September 15, 1995 in Turkey,
and registered on October 16, 1990 in the United States. Complainant
also uses the mark AMERICAONLINE.COM as a domain name for its portal Web
site. On August 21, 1997 and June 11, 1998, respondent registered americanonline.com
and americaonline.net with Network Solutions. Complainant's prayer for
relief seeks that the domain names be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant.
The domain names americanonline.com and americaonline.net are nearly
identical and confusingly similar to the AMERICA ONLINE mark. Respondent
registered and used americanonline.com and americaonline.net in bad faith
for the purposes of capitalizing on the famous mark AMERICA ONLINE and
diverting consumers away from AOL's Web site, and, accordingly, it is not
making a legitimate, noncommercial or fair use of the domain names. Respondent's
bad faith is further demonstrated by its offer to sell the domain names
to Complainant, after being warned of its wrongful actions.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Cases referred to
Interstellar Starship Services, Ltd. v. Epix, Inc. 184 F.3d 1107, 1111
(CA 9th, 1999)
Brookfield, 174 F.3d at 1059 (citing Official Airline Guides, Inc.
v. Goss, 6 F.3d 1385 (9th Cir. 1993))
Panel Decision referred to
--
Perluss, Panelist: -
1. The Parties
America Online, Inc.
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
COMPLAINANT,
vs.
Avrasya Yayincilik Danismanlik Ltd.
Mecidiye Cad. Adiguzel Pasaji No. 14/3
Mecidiyekoy
Istanbul, TURKEY 08310
RESPONDENT.
The above-entitled matter came on regularly for an administrative hearing
on March 15, 2000, before the undersigned, on the Complaint of America
Online, Inc., hereinafter "Complainant," against Avrasya Yayincilik Danismanlik
Ltd., hereinafter "Respondent." Upon the written submitted record,
the following DECISION is made:
2. Procedural Findings
Domain Names:
americaonline.net
americanonline.com
Domain Names Registrar:
Network Solutions
Domain Names Registrant:
Avrasya Yayincilik Danismanlik Ltd.
Dates of Domain Names Registration:
August 21, 1997; June 11, 1998
Date Complaint Filed:
February 10, 2000
Date of Commencement of Administrative Proceedings in
Accordance with Rule 2(a) and Rule 4(c):
February 11, 2000
Due Date for a Response:
March 6, 2000
After reviewing the Complaint for administrative compliance, The National
Arbitration Forum, hereinafter "The Forum," transferred the Complaint to
the Respondent in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the administrative proceeding
was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule 4(d), The
Forum immediately notified the above Registrar, ICANN and the Complainant
that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
Respondent had registered the domain names in issue with Network Solutions,
the entity that is the Registrar of the domain names. By registering their
domain names with Network Solutions, Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute
regarding its domain names through ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute
Resolution Policy.
Respondent did not submit a Response to The Forum within twenty [20]
days pursuant to Rule 5(a), or at all.
3. FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Complainant is the owner of numerous trademark registrations
worldwide for the mark AMERICA ONLINE, including Turkish registration
numbers 173249 and 176258, which were registered on September 15, 1995,
and trademark registration number 1,618,148 with the United States Patent
and Trademarks Office, registered on October 16, 1990
2. Complainant also uses the mark AMERICAONLINE.COM as a domain name
for its portal Web site. The mark AMERICA ONLINE used at this portal Web
site is a significant method of promoting Complainant's service.
3. Prior to Respondent's registration of "americaonline.net" and "americanonline.com,"
and at least as early as 1989, Complainant adopted and began using its
AMERICA ONLINE mark in connection with computer online services and other
Internet-related services. Complainant has used the famous and distinctive
AMERICA ONLINE continuously and extensively in interstate and international
commerce in connection with the advertising and sale of its Internet and
computer-related services.
4. Complainant has invested substantial sums of money in developing
and marketing its services and mark AMERICA ONLINE.
5. Complainant has more than 18 million subscribers, and operates the
most widely-used interactive online service in the world.
6. The AMERICA ONLINE mark has been and continues to be widely publicized
through substantial advertising throughout the United States and the world.
Many millions of dollars have been spent in connection with such advertising,
which has been disseminated through network and cable television programs,
radio broadcasts, and in print media including newspapers and periodicals.
7. Sales of services under the AMERICA ONLINE mark have amounted to
many billions of dollars. As a result, the general public has come to associate
the name and mark AMERICA ONLINE with services of a high and uniform quality.
8. On August 21, 1997 and June 11, 1998, long after Complainant's adoption
and first use of its mark, and after its mark was registered in numerous
countries, including Turkey and the United States, Respondent registered
"americanonline.com" and "americaonline.net" with Network Solutions.
9. The domain names "americanonline.com" and "americaonline.net" are
nearly identical and confusingly similar to the AMERICA ONLINE mark.
10. Respondent registered and used "americanonline.com" and "americaonline.net"
in bad faith for the purposes of capitalizing on the famous mark AMERICA
ONLINE and diverting consumers away from AOL's Web site, and, accordingly,
it is not making a legitimate, noncommercial or fair use of the domain
names.
11. Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect to the
domain names, but, to the contrary, Respondent is creating confusion and
using the domain names to divert and usurp Complainant's users.
12. Respondent's bad faith is evidenced by the fact that it registered
"americanonline.com" on August 21, 1997 and "americaonline.net" on June
11, 1998, long after Complainant's adoption and first use of the mark AMERICA
ONLINE and long after the mark was registered in Turkey and the United
States, and Respondent, thus, clearly had knowledge or reasonably should
have had knowledge of Complainant's prior adoption, usage and registration
of Complainant's well-known mark.
13. Respondent's bad faith is further demonstrated by its offer to sell
the domain names to Complainant, after being warned of its wrongful actions.
14. Complainant's prayer for relief seeks that the domain names be transferred
from Respondent to Complainant.
4. CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned has concluded
based on the law, the rules and the findings of fact above set forth, as
follows:
1. The domain names registered with Network Solutions by Respondent
on August 21, 1997 and June 11, 1998, are substantially identical and confusingly
similar to Complainant's mark.
2. Respondent is not making a legitimate noncommercial or fair use of
the domain name, for it clearly is seeking commercial gain by misleadingly
diverting users to its own web sites.
3. Respondent has registered the domain names primarily for the purpose
of diverting the service of Complainant. Respondent has acted in violation
of Complainant's prior trademark rights of which it had or reasonably should
have had knowledge.
4. In Interstellar Starship Services, Ltd. v. Epix, Inc. (CA 9th, 1999)
184 F.3d 1107, 1111, it was said:
However, ISS became aware of the ‘EPIX' trademark when it applied for
its own registration of ‘EPIX.' Adopting a designation with knowledge of
its trademark status permits a presumption of intent to deceive. See Brookfield,
174 F.3d at 1059 (citing Official Airline Guides, Inc. v. Goss, 6 F.3d
1385 (9th Cir. 1993)). In turn, intent to deceive is strong evidence of
a likelihood of confusion. Sleekcraft, 559 F.2d at 354. [Emphasis in original.]
Here, it is concluded that far beyond the presumptions, Respondent acted
in bad faith and with the intent to deceive.
5. DECISION
Based on the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i),
it is decided as follows:
IT IS DIRECTED THAT THE DOMAIN NAMES "americaonline.net" AND "americanonline.com"
REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT Avrasya Yayincilik Danismanlik Ltd. BE TRANSFERRED
TO COMPLAINANT America Online, Inc.
Domain Name Transferred
|