|
BEAUTYCO,
INC. v. MINI MALLS OF AMERICA
[Indexed as:
Beauty Co, Inc. v. Mini Malls of America]
[Indexed as:
BEAUTYCO.COM]
THE NATIONAL
ARBITRATION FORUM
DECISION FA0003000094266
Commenced:
9 March 2000
Judgment:
April 10, 2000
Presiding Arbitrator:
Tyrus R. Atkinson, Jr., Arbitrator
Domain name
- U.S. Service mark - Likelihood of confusion - Bad faith registration.
Complainant
is the owner of the Service Mark "BEAUTYCO" . Complainant has expended
time, effort and money in promoting the use of the name "Beautyco" and
"Beautyco, Inc." for business purposes for more than twenty years. Respondent
registered the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM". There is no evidence in the
record that Respondent has used the domain name for any purpose. The respondent
did not defend this action.
Held,
Name Transferred to Complainant.
There is
a likelihood of consumer confusion and mistake if the name "BEAUTYCO.COM"
is used by an entity other than Complainant. The domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM"
is identical with the letters appearing in Complainant's Service Mark,
and is the same as the Complainant's corporate name in which it has rights,
and to which Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests. Respondent
registered and acquired the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM" in bad faith. Respondent
offered to sell the domain name to Complainant. Respondent registered
the domain name "long after the name "Beautyco" and the Service Mark "Beautyco"
had been used and promoted by Complainant for a numbers of years.
Respondent knew or should have known of the Complainant's use of the name
and Service Mark before registering the domain name. Respondent knew or
should have known that any use it might put for the domain name might and
probably would create confusion with Complainant's Service Mark.
Policies
referred to
ICANN
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
ICANN Rules
for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
Registration
Agreements referred to
Network Solutions
Service Agreement Version 4.0
Cases referred
to
--
Panel Decision
referred to
--
Atkinson, Jr.,
Arbitrator:-
DOMAIN NAME
DISPUTE DECISION
The above entitled
matter came on for hearing on April 10, 2000 before Tyrus R. Atkinson,
Jr. as sole arbitrator on the Complaint of Beautyco, Inc., hereafter "Complainant",
against Mini Malls of America, hereafter "Respondent". Complainant was
represented by Peter B. Sawin, Vice President of Beautyco, Inc., 2600 S.
Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108. There was no representation on behalf
of Respondent. Upon the written record, the following Decision is made.
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
An administrative
proceeding was commenced by Complainant against Respondent pursuant to
the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted by the Internet
Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers ("ICAAN") on February 28, 2000.
A Complaint
was received by the National Arbitration Forum on March 6, 2000.
By revision
of the Complaint dated March 9, 2000, Complainant certified that it served
Respondent with a copy of the Complaint on or about March 8, 2000.
The formal
date of the commencement of the administrative proceeding was March 9,
2000.
The National
Arbitration Forum notified Respondent to file a Response on or before April
3, 2000. No Response was filed by Respondent within the required time.
Respondent is in default.
The National
Arbitration Forum notified Network Solutions, Inc. of the Commencement
and the Complaint on March 19, 2000.
Network Solutions,
Inc. verified that it is Registrar of the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM", that
the Registrant is Mini Malls of America (BEAUTYCO2.DOM), 1012 North Flood
Street, Norman OK 73069, verified that the Registrant, Mini Malls of America
(BEAUTYCO2-DOM) is bound by the Network Solutions Service Agreement Version
4.0, and further verified that the domain name is in active status.
The National
Arbitration Forum complied in this case with the procedural requirements
set out in the Policy and Rules adopted by ICAAN.
STATEMENT
OF THE CASE
Complainant,
a corporation, contends that the domain name "beautyco.com" should be transferred
to Complainant from Respondent who presently holds the domain name "beautyco.com"
and has held the said domain name since October 24, 1997.
Complainant
contends that it has used the name "Beautyco" since November 25, 1979 in
its business. Complainant contends that it registered with the United States
Patent and Trademark office the trademark "Beautyco" for use by its retail
stores in the sale of hair care and beauty products. Complainant further
contends that Respondent has no legitimate interest in the name "beautyco"
and that Respondent has offered to sell the name "beautyco.com" to Complainant
for a sum in excess of the registration costs.
FINDINGS OF
FACT
1. Complainant
is the owner of the Service Mark "BEAUTYCO" which was registered on May
5, 1992 by the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
2. Complainant
has used the name "Beautyco" since November 25, 1979.
3. Complainant's
corporate name, Beautyco, Inc., has been used in business for a number
of years.
4. Complainant
has expended time, effort and money in promoting the use of the name "Beautyco"
and "Beautyco, Inc." for business purposes for more than twenty (20) years.
Complainant has a substantial investment in the name and Service Mark.
Complainant's products and services are and have been associated with the
name and Service Mark. As result of these efforts, the name and Service
Mark has become associated with Complainant and represents property of
significant value to Complainant.
5. There is
a likelihood of consumer confusion and mistake if the name "BEAUTYCO.COM"
is used by an entity other than Complainant.
6. Complainant
contacted Respondent with a request that the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM"
be transferred to Complainant. Respondent offered to sell the domain name
to Complainant for the sum of $2000.00.
7. There is
no evidence in the Record to show that Respondent has used the domain name
in any commercial manner. There is no evidence in the record that Respondent
has used the domain name for any purpose.
8. Respondent
registered the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM" long after the name "Beautyco"
and the Service Mark "Beautyco" had been used and promoted by Complainant
for a numbers of years.
9. Respondent
knew or should have known of the Complainant's use of the name and Service
Mark before registering the domain name. Respondent knew or should have
known that any use it might put for the domain name might and probably
would create confusion with Complainant's Service Mark.
10. Respondent
has no legitimate or valid interest in the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM".
Respondent's retention of said domain name causes and would cause confusion
and lessen Complainant's rights to use and profit by its registered Service
Mark and established use of "Beautyco".
CONCLUSIONS
1. The domain
name "BEAUTYCO.COM" registered by Respondent Network Solutions, Inc. is
identical with the letters appearing in Complainant's Service Mark, and
is the same as the Complainant's corporate name in which it has rights,
and to which Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests.
2. Respondent
registered and acquired the domain name "BEAUTYCO.COM" in bad faith.
DECISION
THE DOMAIN
NAME "BEAUTYCO.COM" REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT, MINI MALLS OF AMERICA, INC.,
BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT, BEAUTYCO, INC.
The undersigned
certified that he has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this case. The undersigned certifies
that he was impartial and decided the case on the written Record presented
for decision.
This 10th day
of April, 2000.
Tyrus R. Atkinson,
Jr., Arbitrator
Domain
Name transferred
|