|
Bloomberg,
L.P. v. Bloom-berg-dom Jason Beatty and/or Jason Bloom
[Indexed as:
Bloomberg v. Bloom-berg-dom]
[Indexed as:
bloom-berg.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Administrative
Panel Decision
Forum File
No.: FA0003000094358
Commenced:
March 21, 2000
Judgment:
April 24, 2000
Panelist: Judge
Paul A. Dorf, (ret.)
Domain name
- Domain name dispute resolution policy - Confusingly similar - Identical
- No rights or legitimate interest - Bad faith use - Bad faith registration
- Trademark - Service mark.
Complainant,
registrant of <Bloomberg.com>, is a U.S. limited partnership that is
recognized as a leading financial information source around the world.
Respondent
subsequently registered the disputed domain name, <bloom-berg.com>.
In Respondent's correspondence with Complainant, stated: "My company is
receiving large amounts of your customers e-mails every week via my web
site www.bloom-berg.com. <sic> It appears many of your internet customers
are place the -(dash) when sourcing your company domain name (Bloomberg.com)."
Based on
their correspondences, Complainant believes that Respondent registered
the disputed domain name for the primary purpose of selling or otherwise
transferring the domain name to the owner of the <Bloomberg.com> for
valuable consideration.
Held,
Domain name transferred to Complainant
The domain
names registered by Respondent are identical or confusingly similar to
a trade mark or service mark in which Complainant has rights.
Respondent
has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain names. The
name "Bloomberg" is registered in the U.S. and over 80 countries.
Respondent
domain names have been registered and are being used in bad faith. Panel
believes
Respondent
intentionally attempted to attract, for commercial gain, internet users
to the web site by creating a likelihood confusion with Complainant's mark,
which is recognized and trusted worldwide as the leading source of news,
financial and service products. Also,
Policies
referred to
Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
Panel Decision
referred to
--
Judge Paul
A. Dorf, (ret.), Paneliest: -
The above-entitled
matter came on for an administrative hearing on April 24, 2000, before
Paul A. Dorf, Arbitrator, on the Complaint of Bloomberg, L.P., by Alexander
Kim, hereafter "Complainant" against BLOOM-BERG-DOM. There was no representation
on behalf of Respondent. Upon the written submitted record, the following
DECISION is made:
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
Domain Names:
bloom-berg.com
Domain Name
Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name
Registrant: Bloom-Berg-Dom
Date of Domain
Name Registration: March 9, 2000
Date Complaint
Filed: March 21, 2000
Response Due
Date: April 17, 2000
The Complainant
filed its complaint with the National Arbitration Forum on the above-referenced
date. In compliance with the rules, The Forum transferred the Complaint
to the Respondent on March 28, 2000. The Respondent did not submit a response
to The Forum within twenty (20) days pursuant to the rules.
That the Respondent
registered the domain name with Network Solutions, Inc., the entity that
is the Registrar of the domain name. By registering its domain name with
said Registrar, Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute regarding its
domain name through ICANN'S Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS
OF FACT
The manner
in which the domain name(s) are identical or confusing are set out herein
below:
Bloomberg,
L.P., a Delaware limited partnership with a variety of news, financial,
and service products has been in business since 1983, and have been recognized
as a leading financial information source around the world. The disputed
domain name, <bloom-berg.com> was registered by the Respondent on March
9, 2000. The domain name <Bloomberg.com> was registered by Bloomberg
L.P., on September 29, 2993, and has been under continuous use. The name
<bloom-berg.com> is obviously identical to the <Bloomberg.com> thus,
Jason Bloom at <Bloom_bergcaterinnng@Ireland.com>, claiming to represent
bloom-berg.com, wrote an email to Bloomberg, L.P., on March 12, 2000, quote:
"My company is receiving large amounts of your customers e-mails every
week via my web site www.bloom-berg.com. <sic> It appears many of your
internet customers are place the -(dash) when sourcing your company domain
name (Bloomberg.com)." From this correspondence, the Respondent has already
admitted that the names are confusingly similar and that the confusion
already caused Bloomberg's customers to be sent to a wrong web site and
caused them to send correspondences to wrong email address.
The Respondent
should be considered as having no rights or legitimate interest in the
disputed domain name for the following reasons: First, by using the domain
name <bloom-berg.com>, the Respondent has intentionally attempted to
attract, for commercial gain, internet users to the web site <bloom-berg.com>,
by creating a likelihood confusion with the Bloomberg, L.P.'s mark as to
the source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement of the web site <bloom-berg.com>.
Second, the name "Bloomberg" is recognized and trusted worldwide as the
leading source of news, financial and service products. Third, the name
"Bloomberg" is registered in the U.S. and over 80 countries.
The reason
the Complainant believes the disputed domain name was registered in bad
faith is due to the fact that the Respondent registered the disputed domain
name on March 9, 2000, and sent a message about mis-directed emails three
days later, claiming to have received "large amounts of your customers
e-mails every week," which can not be true since the Respondent had the
domain name for only three days from the date of registration before contacting
Bloomberg, L.P. From the Respondent's initial and subsequent correspondences,
Bloomberg, L.P. can only conclude that the Respondent is trying to force
Bloomberg, L.P. to negotiate for the purchase of the domain name from the
Respondent. Thus circumstances indicate that <bloom-berg.com> was registered
for the primary purpose of selling or otherwise transferring the domain
name \to the owner of the <Bloomberg.com> for valuable consideration
in excess of Bloom L.P.'s documented out-fo-pocket costs directly related
to the domain name <Bloomberg.com>.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned
certifies that he has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding. Having been duly
selected and being impartial, the undersigned makes the following findings
and conclusions:
The undersigned
has reviewed all the evidence presented in this case by both parties and
has concluded to believe the facts and circumstances as set forth by the
Complainant. For that reason, the undersigned decides that:
a. The domain
names as registered by the Respondent are identical or confusingly similar
to a trade mark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights; and
b. the Respondent
has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain names; and
c. the Respondent
domain names have been registered and are being used in bad faith.
It is therefore
just, right and proper that the domain name bloom-berg.com be transferred
to the Complainant.
DECISION
Based upon
the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i), it is decided
as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED
DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME BLOOM-BERG.COM REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT, BLOOM-BERG-DOM,
BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT, BLOOMBERG, L.P.
Dated: April
24, 2000, by Judge Paul A. Dorf, (ret.), Arbitrator
THE HONORABLE
PAUL A. DORF, (ret.) Arbitrator
Domain
Name Transferred
|