|
Phillip
S. Martin, d/b/a/ Blue Ridge Knives v. Deon Carpenter
[Indexed as:
Phillip S. Martin v. Deon Carpenter]
[Indexed as:
Blueridgeknives.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Administrative
Panel Decision
Forum File
FA 0002000094311
Commenced:
16 March 2000
Judgment:
25 April 2000
Presiding Panelist:
James A. Carmody
Domain name
- Domain name dispute resolution policy - Supplemental Rules - U.S. Trademark
- Identical -Legitimate interest - Confusingly similar - Cancelled- Cancellation
- Commercial - Transfer - Relinquish - Bad faith registration - Bad faith
use.
Complainant
was owner of two United States trademark registrations for BLUE RIDGE KNIVES.
Respondent registered the domain name, blueridgknife.com. Complainant
alleged that Respondent has no rights in the trademark which is identical
to the domain name and that Respondent registered the domain name at issue
in bad faith. Respondent alleges that the web page, blueridgeknife.com,
was registered as a service to the public to assist it in linking to WeaponsDealer.com
and future similar links related to Respondent. Respondent states that
the domain web page at issue actually praises Complainant's products and
are associated with sales of over $27,000 worth of Complainant's products
Held,
Name Cancelled.
It is clear
that the domain name, blueridge.com is identical or confusingly similar
with the trademark registered and used by Complainant, Blue Ridge Knives.
It is also clear that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in
respect of the domain name. This is bad fiath registration.
Respondent
alleges that the web page, blueridgeknife.com, was registered as a service
t the public to assist it in linking to WeaponsDealer.com and future similar
links related to Respondent. Respondent states that the domain web
page at issue actually praises Complainant's products. Respondent
cites no authority or license for commercial use of Complainant's trademarks.
Since Respondent refused to relinquish or transfer the domain, blueridgknife.com,
Respondent demonstrated bad faith.
Policies
referred to
Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy adopted August 26, 1999
National Arbitration
Forum's Supplemental Rules
Registration
Agreements referred to
Network Solutions,
Inc., effective September 6, 1999.
FINDINGS
OF FACT
1.
On March 18, 2000, Network Solutions, Inc. confirmed that Respondent registered
the domain name "blueridgeknife.com" under the registrant name Carpenter,
Deon W., P.O. Box 478, Geneva, AL 36340, showing himself as Administrative
Contact. Network Solutions acknowledged the commencement of this administrative
proceeding and that the Network Solutions Service Agreement Version 4.0
binds the Respondent. Accordingly, Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute
regarding its domain name registration pursuant to ICANN's Rules for Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and the Uniform Domain Name Dispute
Resolution Policy. Neither the Complainant nor Respondent contests the
jurisdiction of the Forum or the undersigned arbitrator to resolve this
controversy.
2. Complainant
is the owner of incontestable trademarks registered with the United States
Patent and Trademark Office under Reg. No. 1,766,414 and Reg. No. 1,766,
415, the marks being "BLUE RIDGE KNIVES" and "BLUE RIDGE KNIVES" &
Design. These trademark registrations issued in 1993 and followed use of
the marks since 1980 in connection with cutlery, various types of knives
and paraphernalia and flashlights.
3. Complainant
discovered in September of 1999 that Respondent, apparently a reseller
of Complainant's knives at retail, was in the unauthorized process of marketing
knives over the Internet using the domain name "blueridgeknife.com." Complainant
states that such use misled the public as to the authorization, sponsorship,
affiliation or connection between Complainant and Respondent. Complainant
says that Respondent has no rights in the trademark which is identical
to the domain name and that Respondent is seeking commercial gain by wrongful
use of the mark and is misleading and diverting customers.
4. Complainant
alleges sending a cease and desist letter on September 21, 1999, the receipt
of which is denied by Respondent.
5. Complainant
seeks cancellation of Respondent's registration of the domain name "blueridgeknife.com"
rather than transfer of the name to Respondent. No other pending legal
proceedings are alleged by either party.
6. Respondent
alleges that the web page, blueridgeknife.com, was registered as a service
to the public to assist it in linking to WeaponsDealer.com and future similar
links related to Respondent.
7. Respondent
states that the domain web page at issue actually praises Complainant's
products and are associated with sales of over $27,000 worth of Complainant's
products. Respondent says that he fears that Complainant is maintaining
this proceeding in the course of setting up a new "Retail Outlet" for Complainant's
products on the Internet.
8. Respondent
cites no authority or license for commercial use of Complainant's trademarks.9.
Although Respondent sought leave to file an Amended Response to the Complaint
due to a missing page in the served original Complaint, no timely Amended
Response has been filed.
CONCLUSION
The undersigned
certifies that he has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding. Having been duly
selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the following findings
and conclusions:
1.
Complainant has valuable and legally protectable rights in the mark, "BLUERIDGEKNIFE,"
dating back nearly two decades. The mark at issue is identical in use by
Complainant and Respondent and is thus significantly confusing in source
and sponsorship in the mind of the public.
2. Respondent
has no legally protectable rights in the mark "BLUERIDGEKNIFE" and he has
refused to relinquish or transfer the domain, blueridgeknike.com, to Complainant.
3. I find
there to be ample showing of bad faith on the part of Respondent entitling
Complainant to relief as sought.DECISIONBased upon the above findings and
conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i) of the ICANN's Rules for Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and the National Arbitration Forum's
Supplemental Rules to ICANN's Uniform Domain Resolution Policy, it is decided
as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED
DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "BLUERIDGEKNIFE.COM," REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT
DEON CARPENTER, BE CANCELLED.Honorable James A. Carmody
Decision
for Complainant
|