|
BONIDE
PRODUCTS, INC. v. PRESTUNES
[Indexed as:
Bonide Products v. Prestunes]
[Indexed as:
Bonide.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Administrative
Decision
Decision: Forum
File No.: FA000200094205
Judgement:
March 31, 2000
Bad faith
use and registration - ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
- Offers to sell domain name in excess of out-of-pocket expenses - Domain
name identical to trademark - False contact information.
That Complainant
is the owner of the mark "BONIDE" and Complainant holds the U.S. Trademark
Registration for the mark "BONIDE". Bonide is a Trademark for fertilizers
for commercial, agricultural and domestic use as a pesticide, herbicide,
fungicide and insecticide. Respondent registered "BONIDE.COM" as
its domain name. Respondent does not enjoy a relationship with Complainant
as a licensee or otherwise. Respondent had registered thirty-five
(35) domain names at the time of this complaint, most of which are not
up and running.
Held
, domain name transferred to Complainant.
Respondent
has registered, as a domain name, a mark which is identical to the trademark
registered and used by Complainant without having right or legitimate interest
in respect to the domain name and that Respondent did so primarily for
the purpose of selling, renting or otherwise transferring the domain name
registration to the Complainant or to a competitor of Complainant for valuable
consideration in excess of documented out-of-pocket cost directly related
to the domain name.
The following
is evidence of Respondent's bad faith:
a. That
Respondent registered the domain name and offered it for sale at a profit.
b. That
Respondent made no legitimate use of the domain name and seeks to profit
from its registration by trading upon the goodwill associated with the
"BONIDE" mark.
c. That
Respondent provided incomplete and/or false contact information in the
offer of sale.
d. That
Respondent, or persons affiliated with Respondent, have engaged in a pattern
of registering domain names that infringe upon other entities' marks.
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
Domain Name:
BONIDE.COM
Domain Name
Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name
Registrant: Prestunes (BONIDE - DOM)
65 Waterfield
Rd.
Osterville,
MA 02655-1514 USA
Date of Domain
Name Registration: September 9, 1997
Date Complaint
filed: February 25, 2000.
Date of Commencement
of Administrative Proceeding in Accordance with Rule
2(a)[1] and
Rule 4(c): February 28, 2000.
Due date for
a Response: March 20, 2000.
After reviewing
the Complaint and determining it to be in administrative compliance, the
NATIONAL ARBITRATION FORUM (THE FORUM) forwarded the Complaint to the Respondent
on February 28, 2000 in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the administrative
proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule
4(d). THE FORUM immediately notified the Domain Name Registrar NETWORK
SOLUTIONS, INC., the INTERNET CORPORATION FOR ASSIGNED NAMES AND NUMBERS
(ICANN) and the Respondent that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
Respondent submitted a response to the Forum within twenty (20) days pursuant
to Rule 5(a).
On September
9, 1997, Respondent registered the domain name "BONIDE.COM" with NETWORK
SOLUTIONS, INC., the entity that is the Registrar of the domain name. On
February 28, 2000, the Domain Name Registrar NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC., verified
that Respondent is the Registrant for the domain name "BONIDE.COM", and
that further by registering its domain name with NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC.,
Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute regarding its domain name through
ICANN's Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, and the
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS
OF FACT
1. That Complainant
is the owner of the mark "BONIDE" and Complainant holds the U.S. Trademark
Registration for the mark "BONIDE," claiming a date of first use for December
18, 1927, although the Trademark Principal Register is dated March 2, 1999.
2. That Respondent
registered "BONIDE.COM" as its domain name September 9, 1997.
3. That Bonide
is a Trademark for fertilizers for commercial, agricultural and domestic
use as a pesticide, herbicide, fungicide and insecticide.
4. That Respondent
does not enjoy a relationship with Complainant as a licensee or otherwise.
5. That the
record suggests that Respondent's assertion that he has not offered to
sell the domain name BONIDE.COM is false; that the record shows that Respondent
offered to sell the domain name and that greater weight should be given
to Complainant's contention that Respondent offered to sell the domain
name to Complainant for an amount well in excess of Respondent's out-of-pocket
expenses.
6. That Respondent
had registered thirty-five (35) domain names at the time of this complaint,
most of which are not up and running.
7. That Respondent
has not developed and has not made good faith use of the domain name "BONIDE.COM."
8. That Respondent
has registered, as a domain name, a mark which is identical to the trademark
registered and used by Complainant without having right or legitimate interest
in respect to the domain name and that Respondent did so primarily for
the purpose of selling, renting or otherwise transferring the domain name
registration to the Complainant or to a competitor of Complainant for valuable
consideration in excess of documented out-of-pocket cost directly related
to the domain name.
9. That Respondent
revealed prior knowledge of the similarity of Complainant's trademark when
he contended that Complainant could use another domain name "BonideProducts.com."
10. That Respondent
failed to establish a need for, right to, interest in, or business relationship
giving rise to an anticipated right in the name BONIDE.COM.
11. That Complainant
has a legitimate interest in protecting the good will of its trademark,
having engaged in the production of agricultural fertilizer for seventy-three
(73) years using the name Bonide.
12. That Respondent
has not shown any interest in any business operation related to fertilizer
production.
13. That Respondent
registered the domain name "BONIDE.COM" in bad faith and has no rights
or legitimate interests in respect to said domain name. The following is
evidence of Respondent's bad faith:
a. That Respondent
registered the domain name and offered it for sale at a profit.
b. That Respondent
made no legitimate use of the domain name and seeks to profit from its
registration by trading upon the goodwill associated with the "BONIDE"
mark.
c. That Respondent
provided incomplete and/or false contact information in the offer of sale..
d. That Respondent,
or persons affiliated with Respondent, have engaged in a pattern of registering
domain names that infringe upon other entities' marks.
Complainant's
prayer for relief requests that the domain name "BONIDE.COM" be transferred
from Respondent to Complainant.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned
certifies that she has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding. Having been duly
selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the following findings
and conclusions:
1. That contrary
to ICANN's UDNDP, Paragraph 4(b)(I), Respondent registered and acquired
the domain name "BONIDE.COM" in bad faith for the purpose of selling or
otherwise transferring the said domain name registration to the Complainant
who is the owner of the trade mark or service mark, or to a competitor
of the Complainant for valuable consideration in excess of Respondent's
out-of-pocket costs directly related to the domain name.
2. That contrary
to ICANN'S Uniform Domain Name Dispute Policy Paragraph 4(b)(ii), Respondent
registered the domain name "BONIDE.COM" on September 9, 1997 with NETWORK
SOLUTIONS, INC., although the domain name was identical to or confusingly
similar to Complainant's Registered Trademark "BONIDE," a mark in which
Complainant has rights and to which Respondent has no right or legitimate
interest.
3. That contrary
to ICANN UDNDP, Paragraph 4(b)(ii), Respondent registered and acquired
the domain name "BONIDE.COM" to prevent Complainant from reflecting its
trademark in a corresponding domain name, as evidenced by Respondent's
pattern of conduct in obtaining numerous domain names.
4. That Respondent
failed to develop or make good faith use of the domain name.
DECISION
Based upon
the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i), it is decided
as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED
DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "BONIDE.COM" REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT PRESTUNES
(BONIDE-DOM) BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT BONIDE PRODUCTS, INC.
DATED:
March 31, 2000 by Judge Carolyn Marks Johnson (Ret.), Arbitrator.
Honorable
Carolyn Marks Johnson
[1]
Any reference to "Rule" or "Rules are to ICANN's Rules for Uniform Domain
Name Dispute Resolution Policy and Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy as supplemented by the National Arbitration Forum's Supplemental
Rules to ICANN's Uniform Domain Resolution Policy.
Domain
Name Transferred
|