Boy Machines, Inc
v.
Independent - Tom McDonald
[Indexed as: Boy Machine v. McDonald]
[Indexed as: BOYMACHINE.COM]
National Arbitration Forum
Administrative Panel Decision
Forum File No: FA0006000095045
Commenced: 26 June, 2000
Judgment: 20 July, 2000
Presiding Panelists: James A. Carmody
Domain name - U.S. Trademark - Common law trademark - Identical -
Confusingly Similar - Right and Legitimate Interest - Bad faith registration
- Bad faith use - Difference of plurality - Divert users.
Complainant was owner of the U.S. trademark registration for the
mark, BOY, for use in injection molding machines and parts. Complainant
conducts business on the Internet at boymachines.com. Respondent
registered the domain name, boymachine.com, and is using this domain name
as an adults-only website.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant.
Respondent's domain name is confusingly similar to Complainant's
registered mark and identical to Complainant's common law mark. Respondent
creates confusion with the Complainant's mark by removing the letter "s"
form the Complainant's business name and corresponding website.
Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in respect to the
registered domain name because Respondent is using the site to divert users
to another site that contains pornographic material.
Respondent registered and is using the domain names in bad faith.
Respondent is acting in bad faith by programming its website to direct
users away from Complainant's site towards a pornographic site.
Policies referred to
ICANN's Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
National Arbitration Forum's Supplemental Rules to ICANN's Uniform
Domain Resolution Policy
Cases referred to
EthnicGrocer.com, Inc. v. Unlimited Latin Flavors, Inc., FA,94385 (Nat.
Arb. Forum July 7, 2000)
Oxygen Media, LLC v. Primary Source,D2000?0362 (WIPO June 19, 2000)
Panel Decision referred to
- Carmody Panelist: -
Boy Machines Inc. v Independent?Tom McDonald
PARTIES
The Complainant is Boy Machines, Inc., Exton, PA, USA ("Complainant").
The Respondent is Independent?Tom McDonald, Seattle, WA, USA ("Respondent").
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME(s)
The domain name at issue is "BOYMACHINE.COM", registered with Network
Solutions Inc. ("NSI").
PANELIST(s)
Hon. James A. Carmody, as Panelist.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum
("The Forum") electronically
on June 19, 2000; The Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint on June
19, 2000.
On June 26, 2000, NSI confirmed by e?mail to The Forum that the domain
name "BOYMACHINE.COM" is registered with NSI and that the Respondent
is the current registrant of
the name. NSI has verified that Respondent is bound by the Network Solutions
Service Agreement Version 4.0 and has thereby agreed to resolve domain?name
disputes brought by third parties in accordance with ICANN's UDRP.
On June 26, 2000, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the "Commencement Notification"), setting a deadline of July
17, 2000 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was
transmitted to Respondent via email, post and fax, and to all entities
and persons listed on Respondent's registration as technical, administrative
and billing contacts by email.
On July 17, 2000, having received no Response from Respondent, using
the same contact details and methods as were used for the Commencement
Notification, The Forum transmitted to the parties a Notification of Respondent
Default.
On July 18, 2000, pursuant to Complainant's request to have the dispute
decided by a Single Member panel, The Forum appointed the Hon. James A.
Carmody as Panelist.
Having reviewed the communications records in the case file, the Administrative
Panel (the
"Panel") finds that The Forum has discharged its responsibility under
Paragraph 2(a) of the
Uniform Rules "to employ reasonably available means calculated to achieve
actual notice to
Respondent." Therefore, the Panel may issue its Decision based on the
documents submitted and in accordance with the ICANN Policy, ICANN Rules,
The Forum's Supplemental Rules and any rules and principles of law that
the panel deems applicable, without the benefit of any Response from the
Respondent.
RELIEF SOUGHT
The Complainant requests that the domain name transferred from the Respondent
to the Complainant.
PARTIES' CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
The Complainant contends that the Respondent's use of the domain name
constitutes an improper and unlawful infringement of its rights in its
registered mark. The Complainant contends that the domain name in question
is confusingly similar to the Complainant's mark, business name, and domain
name.
The Complainant suggests that if the Respondent has conducted a domain
name search, the existence and prominence of the Complainant's mark and
business would have been apparent. The Complainant maintains that the Respondent's
infringement is detrimental to its business and has created consumer confusion.
The Complainant asserts that the Respondent's registration and use of the
domain name has diluted the value of the Complainant's mark and is inhibiting
the Complainant from effectively using its mark.
B. Respondent
The Respondent submitted no response in this matter. As a result, all
reasonable inferences of fact in the allegations of the Complainant will
be deemed true.
FINDINGS
The Complainant owns the U.S. trademark registration for the mark, BOY
(registered: December 9, 1975; No. 1,027,026) for use in injection molding
machines and parts. The Complainant conducts business on the Internet at
<boymachines.com>.
The Respondent registered the domain name in question on or about July
24, 1999. The Respondent
is using the domain name in question as an adults?only website.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 4(a) of the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Policy ("Policy")
directs that the complainant must prove each
of the following three elements to support a claim that a
domain name should be cancelled or transferred:
(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly
similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect
of the domain name; and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Identical and/or Confusingly Similar
The Complainant has rights in the mark BOY, through its registered trademark.
The Complainant also has common law
rights to the name, Boy Machines, which is its corporate name.
The Respondent's domain name is confusingly similar to the Complainant's
registered mark and identical to the Complainant's common law mark. The
Respondent creates confusion with the Complainant's mark by removing the
letter "s" from the Complainant's business name and corresponding website.
See EthnicGrocer.com, Inc. v. Unlimited Latin Flavors, Inc. FA 94385 (Nat.
Arb. Forum July 7, 2000) (finding that the domain name <ethnicgrocers.com>
is confusingly similar to Complainant's mark, ETHNICGROCER).
Rights or Legitimate Interests
The Respondent's registration of the "BOYMACHINE.COM" domain name occurred
after the date that the Complainant started using and filed for registration
of its mark.
Further, the Respondent has made no legitimate use of the domain name
at issue. The Respondent has not used the domain name in connection
with a bona fide offering of goods and services nor is the Respondent commonly
known by the domain name, as set forth in the Policy 4(c)(i) - (iii).
Instead, the Respondent is using the site to divert users to another site
that contains pornographic material.
Registration and Use in Bad Faith
The Respondent has not responded to the Complaint and, therefore, does
not deny that the domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith,
as alleged by Complainant.
The Respondent is acting in bad faith by programming its website to
direct users away from Complainant's site towards pornographic site. See
Oxygen Media, LLC v. Primary Source, D2000?0362 (WIPO June 19, 2000) (finding
bad faith where Respondent threatened to develop the domain name, <0xygen.com>,
into a pornography site).
The panel concludes that the Respondent registered and used the domain
names in bad faith.
DECISION
Having established all three elements required by the ICANN Policy Rule
4(a), it is the decision of the
panel that the requested relief be granted.
Accordingly, for all of the foregoing reasons, it is ordered that the
domain name, "BOYMACHINE.COM" be transferred from the
Respondent to the Complainant.
James A. Carmody, Judge (Ret.)
Dated: July 20, 2000
Domain
Name Transferred