AfterImage Studios, Inc v. Applewood Publishing
[Indexed as: AfterImage Studios v. Applewood Publishing]
[Indexed as: Bulkmale.com]
THE NATIONAL ARBITRATION FORUM
Case No: FA0004000094643
Commenced: 25 April, 2000
Judgment: 30 May, 2000
Presiding Panelist: John A. Bender, Arbitrator
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - U.S. Service
mark - U.S. Trademark - Identical - Confusingly similar - Bad faith registration
- Bad faith use.
That Complainant is the owner of a trademark and trade names that
include the term "Bulkmale". Registrant registered the domain name, bulkmale.com.
Complainant and its predecessor-in-interest adopted and began using Bulkmale
as a product name as early as 1991. The name was used continuously
and extensively in interstate and international commerce in connection
with the advertising and sale of products and services.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant.
The findings are that the domain name "Bulkmale.com" is nearly identical
and confusingly similar to a trademark in which Complainant has rights
and to which Respondent has no right or legitimate interests.
The domain name was registered and used in bad faith. Respondent
registered the domain name after Complainant's alleged failure to pay a
commercial debt and holds the domain name hostage for payment of that debt.
Respondent also had no pre-trademark legitimate use of the domain name
and has sought to commence his new apparel website only after this dispute
was ripe; and has made no mention of a bona-fide use before this dispute
erupted.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
National Arbitration Forum's Supplemental Rules
Registration Agreements referred to
Network Solutions Domain Name Registration Agreement, dated July 4,
1997
Panel Decision referred to
--
John A. Bender, Sole Panelist: -
___________________________________________________
1. The Parties
The Complainant is AfterImage Studios, Inc. ("AfterImage Studios" or
"Complainant"). The Respondent is Applewood Publishing ("Respondent").
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
The domain name at issue is bulkmale.com. The domain name is registered
with Network Solutions, Inc., 505 Huntmar Park Drive, Herndon, Virginia
20170 ("NSI").
3. Procedural History
Date of Commencement of Administrative Proceeding in Accordance with
Rule 2(a)[1] and Rule 4(c): April 25, 2000
Due date for a Response: Respondent submitted a Response within 20 days.
After reviewing the Complaint, and determining it to be in administrative
compliance, the National Arbitration Forum (The Forum) forwarded the Complaint
to the Respondent on April 25, 2000, in compliance with Rule 2(a), and
the administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance
with Rule 4(d), The Forum immediately notified Network Solutions, Inc.
(Network Solutions), the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers
(ICANN), and the Complainant that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
Respondent submitted a response to The Forum within twenty (20) days pursuant
to Rule 5(a).
On July 4, 1997, Respondent registered the domain name "Bulkmale.com"
with Network Solutions, the entity that is the Registrar of the domain
name. On April 20, 2000, Network Solutions verified that Respondent is
the Registrant for the domain name "Bulkmale.com", and that further by
registering its domain name with Network Solutions, Respondent agreed to
resolve any dispute regarding its domain name through Network Solutions'
and ICANN's Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, and
the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
4. Findings of Fact
1. That Complainant is the owner of a trademark and trade names that
include the term "Bulkmale". Complainant uses "Bulkmale" as the identifier
for its e-mail address at its portal website.
2. That Complainant is the owner of at least 1 trademark registrations
for Bulkmale and uses the name extensively in interstate and international
commerce.
3. That as early as 1991, Complainant and its predecessor-in-interest
adopted and began using Bulkmale as a product name, used continuously and
extensively in interstate and international commerce in connection with
the advertising and sale of products and services.
4. That Complainant has invested substantial sums of money in developing
and marketing its products and service, under the "Bulkmale" mark..
5. That Respondent registered and used the domain name "Bulkmale.com"
in bad faith and has no rights or legitimate interests in respect to said
domain name. The following is evidence of Respondent's bad faith:
a. Respondent registered the domain name after Complainant's alleged
failure to pay a commercial debt and holds the domain name hostage for
payment of that debt.
b. Respondent had no pre-trademark legitimate use of the domain name
and has sought to commence his new apparel website only after this dispute
was ripe; and has made no mention of a bona-fide use before this dispute
erupted.
6. Complainant's prayer for relief requests that the domain name "Bulkmale.com"
be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
5. Conclusions
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the
following findings and conclusions:
1. The domain name "Bulkmale.com", registered by Respondent with Network
Solutions, is nearly identical and confusingly similar to a trademark in
which Complainant has rights and to which Respondent has no right or legitimate
interests.
2. Respondent registered and acquired the domain name "Bulkmale.com"
primarily for the purpose of enforcing an unrelated commercial debt, even
though Complainant is the owner of the trade mark and has used the mark
as a mainstay of its business since 1991. This amounts to seeking valuable
consideration in excess of Respondent's out of pocket costs directly related
to the domain name. Respondent has therefore registered and used the domain
name in bad faith.
6. Decision
Based upon the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule
4(i), it is decided as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "Bulkmale.com" REGISTERED
BY RESPONDENT TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT.
Dated: May 30, 2000, by John A. Bender, Arbitrator.
[1] Any reference to "Rule" or "Rules" are to ICANN's Rules for Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy as supplemented by the National Arbitration Forum's Supplemental
Rules to ICANN's Uniform Domain Resolution Policy.
Domain
Name Transferred