[Indexed as
Calstore.com v. Calstore.net]
[Indexed as
Calstore.com et al]
The National
Arbitration Forum
File No. 94296
Commenced:
February 23, 2000
Judgment:
March 20, 2000
Presiding Arbitrator:
Louis Condon
Domain name
- Domain name dispute resolution policy - Service Mark - Confusingly similar
- Identical - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use - Simultaneous attempt
to register.
Complainant
was registrant of service mark. Respondent registered domain name
Calstore.net. Complainant alleged its service mark was identical
to the registered domain name and that Respondent had no legitimate interest
in it and was using it in bad faith.
HELD,
Name Not Transferred to Complainant.
Complainant
operates their business from Alhambra, California, offering financial,
postal and computer software services. Complainant registered the
service mark CAL STORE in 1999, stating that they had been using it since
1995. Respondent has its office in Calcutta, India. Respondent has
been in business for some time having registered other domain names as
early as March 1999. Respondent was engaged in setting up an on-line
shopping mall in Calcutta.
Both Complainant
and Respondent attempted to register the domain name in question on December
15, 1999. Ultimately domain name was issued to Respondent.
The fact
that, even though a world apart, both applied to register at the almost
identical
moment would be an indication that neither knew of the other's activities.
While both parties have obvious reasons for wanting to use the domain name,
the Complainant has failed to meet the burden of establishing Respondent's
bad faith registration and use.
Policies
referred to
Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Registration
Agreements referred to
Network Solutions,
Inc. Registration Agreement, effective December 15, 1999
Administrative
Decision referred to
--
Condon, Arbitrator:
-
The above entitled
matter came on to be heard for an administrative hearing on
March 20,
2000, before the undersigned arbitrator in accordance with Rule
3(b)(i) of
ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and Rules.
The arbitrator
certifies that he has no conflict of interest with any of the parties to
this dispute.
After due consideration of the written record as submitted, the
following
decision is made:
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
Domain Name:Calstore.net
Domain Registrant:InfodriveDate:
Dec 15, 1999
Domain Registrar:Network
Solutions, Inc.
This action
was commenced by the Complainant's filing its complaint with the
National Arbitration
Forum (The Forum) on February 23, 2000. Thereafter,
following
a compliance review made in accordance with ICANN Rule 4, all
necessary
parties were duly notified of the commencement of the administrative
proceedings.
In due time the Respondent filed its Response.
FINDINGS
OF FACT
1.The Complainant has its office and does business in Alhambra, California,
whereas the Respondent has its office and does business in Calcutta, India.
2.The Complainant registered its service mark " CAL STORE" with the State
of California on August 30, 1999, indicating that it had been using the
mark
since January 1, 1999. Its stated business was offering financial, postal
and
computer software services. In its complaint, Complainant stated it had
been using "CAL STORE´ since 1995.
3.The Respondent has been in business for sometime having registered other
domain names at least as early as March, 1999. At some time in 1999,
Respondent engaged in setting up an on-line shopping mall consisting of
50
shops in the City of Calcutta, India. A brochure explaining its business
plan
was attached to its Response.
4.Both the Complainant and Respondent attempted to register the subject
domain name on December 15, 1999. Ultimately, the domain name was
issued to the Respondent, Infodrive by Network Solutions Registration
Services.
5.On the same day the Respondent was granted the domain name the
Complainant was notified that its request was denied.
6.The Complainant claimed to have contacted the Infodrive office and that
the
Respondent's administrator, Rakesh Saraf, orally offered to sell the domain
name for a very high price. This was vehemently denied by the Respondent
who stated that he had never had any dialogue with the Complainant.
CONCLUSION
While both
parties have obvious reasons for wanting to use the domain name, to
wit, one is
in the State of California and the other is in the City of Calcutta, the
Complainant
has the burden of making out its case for cancelling or transferring the
name. To do
so, it must establish that :
1.The registered domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a
trademark
or service mark in which the Complainant has rights.
2.The Respondent does not have rights or legitimate interests in respect
of the
domain name.
3.The domain name should be considered as having been registered
and used in bad faith.
As indicated
above, both parties have logical reasons for wanting to use the
domain name.
The fact that, even though a world apart, both applied to register at
the almost
identical moment would be an indication that neither knew of the other's
activities.
There is no reason why either should have been aware of the other. The
Complainant
does not claim that the Respondent is attempting to misleadingly
divert consumers
or to tarnish its service mark. Nor has the Complainant proven
anything which
would establish that the Respondent acted in bad faith in registering
the domain
name.
DECISION
Complainant
having failed to establish items (2) and (3) as set forth above, the
Complaint
is denied and the Respondent should be allowed to use the domain
name.
Arbitrator
Louis Condon
March 20, 2000
Charleston,
SC
Name not transferred