Dollar Financial Group, Inc.
v.
Great American Credit
[Indexed as: Dollar Financial Group v. Great American Credit]
[Indexed as: CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM]
National Arbitration Forum
Administrative Panel Decision
Forum File No.: FA0006000094994
Commenced: 12 June 2000.
Judgment: 18 July 2000.
Presiding Panelist: Honorable Carolyn Marks Johnson
Domain Name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Confusingly
similar - No rights or legitimate interests - bad faith- Respondent not
responding to Complaint - Paragraph 2(e) of Uniform Rules
Complainant provides consumers with small "payday loans" using it's
registered mark CASH UNTIL PAY DAY and CASH ‘TIL PAYDAY and uses the domain
name <cashtilpayday.com> to market its services on the Internet.
Respondent registered the domain name "CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM" to market short
term consumer loans.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant
Respondent's domain name is identical to Complainant's pseudo mark,
except for the addition of the domain name level designation "com".
The domain name is not a designation by which Respondent is commonly
known and was registered to divert Internet consumers and capitalize on
Complainant's established mark. Respondent has no rights or legitimate
interests in the domain name.
Respondent registered the domain name with the intent of disrupting
the business of Complainant, which offers competing services. Respondent
knew of Complainant's service and mark, registered a similar domain name
and began offering competitive services on the website. Respondent
is using Complainant's mark to attract Internet users for commercial gain
by creating a likelihood of confusion as to the source, sponsorship, affiliation,
or endorsement of Complainant's mark and corresponding services.
The Forum has discharged its responsibility to employ reasonably
available means calculated to achieve actual notice to Respondent. Because
Respondent failed to submit a response in this matter, all reasonable inferences
of fact in the Complaint shall be deemed to be true.
Cases referred to:
Hewlett-Packard v. Full System, FA 94637 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 22, 2000).
Youtv Inc. v. Alemdar, FA 94243 (Nat. Arb. Forum April 25, 2000).
Honorable Carolyn Marks Johnson, Panelist -
PARTIES
The Complainant is Dollar Financial Group, Inc., Berwyn, PA, USA ("Complainant").
The Respondent is Great American Credit, Alpharetta, GA, USA ("Respondent").
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME(s)
The domain name at issue is "CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM", registered with Network
Solutions Inc. ("NSI").
PANELIST(s)
Honorable Carolyn Marks Johnson sits as Panelist.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum
("The Forum") electronically on 06/08/2000; The Forum received a hard copy
of the Complaint on 06/09/2000.
On 06/08/2000, NSI confirmed by e-mail to The Forum that the domain
name "CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM" is registered with NSI and that the Respondent
is the current registrant of the name. NSI has verified that Respondent
is bound by the Network Solutions Service Agreement Version 4.0 and has
thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties
in accordance with ICANN's UDRP.
On 06/12/2000, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the "Commencement Notification"), setting a deadline of 07/05/2000
by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted
to Respondent via email, post and fax, and to all entities and persons
listed on Respondent's registration as technical, administrative and billing
contacts by email.
On 07/05/2000, having received no Response from Respondent, using the
same contact details and methods as were used for the Commencement Notification,
The Forum transmitted to the parties a Notification of Respondent Default.
On 07/07/2000, pursuant to Complainant's request to have the dispute
decided by a Single Member panel, The Forum appointed Honorable Carolyn
Marks Johnson as Panelist.
Having reviewed the communications records in the case file, the Administrative
Panel (the "Panel") finds that The Forum has discharged its responsibility
under Paragraph 2(a) of the Uniform Rules "to employ reasonably available
means calculated to achieve actual notice to Respondent." Therefore, the
Panel may issue its Decision based on the documents submitted and in accordance
with the ICANN Policy, ICANN Rules, The Forum's Supplemental Rules and
any rules and principles of law that the panel deems applicable, without
the benefit of any Response from the Respondent.
RELIEF SOUGHT
The Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from the
Respondent to the Complainant.
PARTIES' CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
The Complainant contends that the Respondent has registered a domain
name that is confusingly similar to its trademark registered for and in
use by the Complainant. Further, the Complainant contends that the Respondent
has no rights or legitimate interests to the domain name and is using the
domain name in bad faith.
B. Respondent
The Respondent failed to submit a response in this matter and, accordingly,
all reasonable inferences of fact in the Complaint will be deemed to be
true.
FINDINGS
The Complainant (formerly known as Monetary Management Corporation)
provides consumers with small "payday loans", using the mark CASH ‘TIL
PAYDAY. This mark is registered with the United States Patent and Trademark
Office (registration 07/16/1996; No. 1,987,764). The trademark is registered
under the Pseudo Mark CASH UNTIL PAY DAY. The Complainant uses the domain
name <cashtilpayday.com> to market its services on the Internet.
The Respondent registered the domain name "CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM" on 12/17/1999.
The Respondent is using the domain name to market short term consumer loans.
On 01/16/2000 and 02/26/2000, the Complainant sent the Respondent "cease
and desist" letters. However, the Respondent ignored such requests and
has continued to use the domain name.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 4(a) of the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Policy ("Policy")
requires that the complainant must prove each of the following three elements
to support a claim that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:
(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly
similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect
of the domain name; and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Identical and/or Confusingly Similar
The Complainant has rights in the marks CASH TIL PAYDAY and CASH UNTIL
PAY DAY. The Respondent's domain name is identical to the Complainant's
pseudo mark, except for the addition of the domain name level designation
"com". When potential clients seek the Complainant's services on the Internet,
the Complainant's pseudo mark is one of the first domain names entered.
This association is vital in maintaining a business in today's e-commerce
society.
Rights or Legitimate Interests
The Complainant asserts that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate
interests in the domain name in question. The Respondent does not assert
any rights or legitimate interests to the domain name in question.
The domain name is not a designation by which the Respondent is commonly
known. Policy 4(c)(ii). Rather, the Respondent recently registered
the domain name to divert Internet consumers and capitalize on the Complainant's
established mark.
The Respondent has not made the claim that it is using the domain name
in connection with a bona fide offering of goods and services nor for a
legitimate or fair use. Policy 4(c)(i), (iii). Instead, the Respondent's
site offers services, which complete with the Complainant's business. See
Hewlett-Packard v. Full System, FA 94637 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 22, 2000)
(finding that the Respondent had no legitimate interest in the domain name,
<openmail.com>, that was being used to compete with the Complainant's
e-mail services).
Based on the above, the panel finds that the Respondent has no rights
or legitimate interests in the domain name in question.
Registration and Use in Bad Faith
The Complainant asserts that the Respondent acted and is acting in bad
faith. The Respondent does not deny that its actions were taken in bad
faith.
The Respondent registered the domain name with the intent of disrupting
the business of the Complainant, which offers competing services. Policy
4(b)(iii). The Respondent knew of the Complainant's services and mark,
registered a similar domain name, and began offering competitive services
on the website. This is evidence of bad faith. See Youtv, Inc. v. Alemdar,
FA 94243 (Nat. Arb. Forum April 25, 2000) (finding that the Respondent
acted in bad faith when he used the Complainant's marks to develop an Internet
business in competition with the Complainant).
The Respondent is also using the Complainant's mark to attract Internet
users for commercial gain by creating a likelihood of confusion as to the
source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement of the Complainant's mark
and corresponding services. Policy 4(b)(iv).
The panel concludes that the Respondent registered and used the domain
name in bad faith.
DECISION
Having established all three elements required by the ICANN Policy Rule
4(a), it is the decision of the panel that the requested relief be granted.
Accordingly, for all of the foregoing reasons, it is ordered that the
domain name, "CASHUNTILPAYDAY.COM" be transferred from the Respondent to
the Complainant.
Domain Name Transferred
|