|
CHANNEL
D CORPORATION v. CHANNEL-D
[Indexed as:
CHANNEL D v. CHANNEL-D]
[Indexed as:
CHANNEL-D.COM]
National arbitration
forum
Domain Name
Dispute Decision
Forum File
No.: 0003000094299
Judgment:
April 25, 2000
Presiding Panelist:
Judge Richard B. Wickersham (Ret.)
Domain name
- Domain name dispute resolution - Trademark - Identical - Confusingly
similar - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use.
Complainant
was registrant of United States trademark and service mark, CHANNEL D.
Registrant registered the domain names, channel-d.com. Complainant alleged
that its registered mark and the registered domain name were identical
and that Respondent registered the domain name at issue in bad faith.
Held,
Name Not Transferred to Complainant
Although
the domain name, channel-d.com is almost identical to Complainant's registered
mark, Complainant failed to show that the domain name was registered in
bad faith.
Despite
the fact that Respondent has failed to make use of the domain name, it
has a company registered in Australia under the name, Channel-D Pty, Ltd.
that is distinct from Complainant, it did not know of the existence of
Complainant's company, and it contends that the domain name will be in
use shortly. It was therefore held that Respondent had a legitimate
interest in registering the domain name, channel-d.com.
Wickersham,
Panelist: -
Disputed Domain
Name: channel-d.com FA No.: 94298
The above entitled
matter came on for an administrative hearing on April 25, 2000
before the
undersigned on the Complaint of CHANNEL-D CORPORATION
against CHANNEL-D.
John J. DeLaney, Jr., Esquire, of Cooper, Rose & English,
LLP, 480 Morris
Avenue, Summit, New Jersey 07901, represents Complainant.
Drew Lesser,
P.O. Box 592, Toorak, Vic 2142, AU, represents Respondent.
Upon the written
submitted record, the following decision is made:
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
1. This dispute
concerns the domain name(s) identified below:
Domain Name:
channel-d.com
Created On:
October 13, 1999
Expires On:
October 13, 2001
2. The registrar(s)
with which the domain name(s) is registered is as follows:
Registrar:
NameSecure.com
Address: P.O.
Box 127, Moraga, California 94556
FACTUAL
AND LEGAL GROUNDS
3. The Complaint
is based on the following grounds:
(1) The Complainant,
Channel D Corporation, is a corporation organized and existing under the
laws of the State of New Jersey and has been in existence since December
1995. The Complainant provides telecommunications and utility standby power
testing and consulting services, scientific audio signal analysis software
and video signal analysis software under the business and trademark of
Channel D.
(2) The domain
name at issue is nearly identical to and is alleged to be confusingly
similar to
Complaint's registered business/trademark of Channel D.
(3) The Complainant
alleges that there is no evidence that Respondent has used or is prepared
to use the domain name at issue in connection with a bona fide offering
of goods or services. The Complainant has visited Respondent's domain name
on several occasions before filing the within Complaint and at no time
has the Respondent's site had any active links, nor has it ever offered
any information, including any information regarding Respondent's products
or services.
4. Respondent
alleges Channel-D Pty, Ltd., was registered as a company in Australia in
October 1994. It is registered in Australia and operates a business that
is completely unrelated to Channel D Corporation; further, that it has
no interest in attempting to divert the business of Channel-D Corporation
nor has it known of its existence; further, that the site is currently
incomplete and is to be completed upon the return of the director who is
currently in the hospital.
CONCLUSION
The domain
name Channel-D registered by Respondent appears to be supported by a showing
of a legitimate right or interest in the Respondent. There is no evidence
that Respondent has acted in bad faith by registering or acquiring the
domain name Channel-D.
Complainant's
prayer for relief requesting that the domain name Channel-D be cancelled
or transferred from Respondent to Complainant is DENIED.
Name Not Transferred
|