|
Current
USA Inc. v. Current Event
[Indexed as:
Current USA v. Current Event]
[Indexed as:
Current.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Arbitrators
Decision
Decision: Forum
File No.: FA94300
Judgement:
April 17, 2000
Arbitrator:
Judge Paul A. Dorf, (ret.)
Infringement
on trademark - Failure to use domain name - Knowledge of trademark (actual
or constructive) - Predecessors in interest - Failure to respond as evidence
of bad faith registration - Actual notice or constructive notice of prior
use.
Complainant,
through its predecessor in interest, Current Inc., has owned at least four
federal registrations for the mark CURRENT. Respondent, an entity
named "Current Event," from California, registered current.com as a domain
name. Claimant informed Respondent that its registration of current.com
as a domain name violated its trademark rights. Those notices were mailed
to the address provided by Respondent. The post office returned
those letters to counsel for Claimant.
Held,
Domain Name Transferred.
Respondent
use of the mark current infringes on the federal trademark of Claimant.
Respondent has no legitimate rights or interests to use the mark ‘current'.
Current Event does not appear to own any federal registrations for the
mark CURRENT. A Pennsylvania company, Current Events International, owns
federal registrations for CURRENT EVENTS INTERNATIONAL AND DESIGN and CURRENT
EVENTS AND DESIGN. It is unlikely that Current Events International is
the same as the registrant of current.com, Current Event.
The fact
that Respondent failed to provide a forwarding address shortly after registering
the domain name suggests bad faith use and registration of the disputed
domain name. Based upon the apparent lack of a legitimate company
called "Current Event", and upon Respondents refusal to communicate with
Claimant, it is reasonable to assume that Current Event's purpose was to
preclude Current USA Inc. from using the CURRENT mark in a domain name
and thereby disrupt its business.
The Respondent
had actual or at least constructive notice of the prior use of the mark
CURRENT and had knowledge that the United States Trademark Office has registered
over 200 trademarks (in addition to the Complainant's registrations) that
comprise or include the term CURRENT.
Statutes
Cited
Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
Paragraph
15(a)
Paragraph
4(a)
Supplemental
Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
PROCEDURAL
FINDINGS
Domain Names:
Current.com
Domain Name
Registrar: Network Solutions
Response Due
Date: April 6, 2000
The Complainant
filed its complaint with the National Arbitration Forum on March 9, 2000.
In compliance with the rules, The Forum transferred the Complaint to the
Respondent on March 14, 2000 and the Respondent submitted a response to
The Forum on April 6, 2000.
The Respondent
registered the domain name with Network Solutions, the entity that is the
Registrar of the domain name. By registering its domain name with Network
Solutions the Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute regarding its domain
name through ICANN'S Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS
OF FACTS
The manner
in which the domain name(s) are identical or confusing are set out herein
below:
Since 1994,
Current USA, Inc., through its predecessor in interest, Current, Inc. has
owned at least four federal registrations for the mark CURRENT®, which
now grant it the exclusive right to use the mark on a wide variety of products
and services. Current, Inc. transferred the marks, including all goodwill,
to SE/PDI Acquisition Corp. That entity then changed its name to Current
USA, Inc.
On or about
May 20, 1997, an entity named "Current Event," with a California address,
registered current.com as a domain name. That domain is identical to Current
USA Inc.'s registered mark CURRENT®.
Current USA
Inc.'s registration and use of the mark CURRENT® predate the registration
of the current.com domain name by Current Event.
At the time
Current Event registered the domain name, Current USA Inc.'s predecessor
in interest, Current, Inc., owned at least six federal trademark registrations
for the mark CURRENT®), for products and services ranging from stationery,
monogramming services and ceramic vases, to personal protection spray,
stickers, ponytail holders, and many, many more products. Current USA Inc.'s
CURRENT® catalog of gift products is well-known. An on-line copy of
the catalog can be found at www.currentcatalog.com.
In contrast,
Current Event has no discernible right to use the mark CURRENT. Current
Event does not appear to be an active company in California.
Current Event
does not appear to own any federal registrations for the mark CURRENT.
A Pennsylvania company, Current Events International, owns federal registrations
for CURRENT EVENTS INTERNATIONAL AND DESIGN and CURRENT EVENTS AND DESIGN.
It is unlikely that Current Events International is the same as the registrant
of current.com, Current Event. Current Events International appears to
be registered in California as a Pennsylvania
company. Also,
Current Events International identified itself as a Pennsylvania company
in its trademark registration, There is no reason to believe that Current
Events International would have provided a California address for its domain
name registration, but a Pennsylvania address for its trademark registrations.
No other companies called "Current Event" appear to own any federal trademark
registrations. Thus, Respondent does not have any federal trademark registrations
of the mark
CURRENT or a derivation thereof. It appears that Current Event never had
a visible web site at current.com.
Based on the
above, Respondent does not have a legitimate interest in the domain name
current.com.
By communications
dated September 17, 1998, and November 5, 1998, Current USA Inc.'s predecessor-
in-interest, Current, Inc., informed Current Event that its registration
of current.com as a domain name violated its trademark rights. Those notices
were mailed to the Sunnyvale, California address provided by Current Event
to NSI. The post office returned those letters to counsel for Current,
Inc. When counsel for Current, Inc. called the Post Master to inquire about
the returned notices, they were informed that Current Event no longer maintained
a post office
box at that
address and did not have a forwarding address. The September 17, 1998,
letter was also sent to the sole e-mail address that Current Event provided
to NSI. Cur-rent Event never responded.
Current Event
does not appear to be an active California corporation. In addition, it
provided a postal address to NSI which was either fraudulent at the time
it registered the domain name, or which it cancelled shortly thereafter.
It was only about sixteen months from the date Current Event registered
current.com, to the date Current, Inc.'s letter to Current Event was returned.
It is difficult to conceive that a legitimate business would provide a
business address that, within sixteen months, was no longer valid and was
not connected to a forwarding address. Moreover, Current Event did
not respond to e-mail communication at the e-mail address it provided to
NSI. That e-mail address, names@BEST.COM, is the e-mail address of a Web
hosting company. If Current Event had a good faith intent to register and
use the domain name, it is reasonable to assume that it would have responded
to an e-mail inquiry to its Web hosting company. More likely, Current Event
was using best.com for its domain name "parking" services. Finally, the
telephone number listed by Current Event, (408) 470-2566, is no longer
in service. Based upon the apparent lack of a legitimate company
called "Current Event" in California, and upon Current Event's refusal
to communicate with Current USA, Inc. or its predecessor in interest, it
is reasonable to assume that Current Event's purpose was to preclude Current
USA Inc. and its predecessor in interest from using the CURRENT mark in
a domain name and thereby disrupt its business.
The Respondent
had actual or at least constructive notice of the prior use of the mark
CURRENT and had knowledge that the United States Trademark Office has registered
over 200 trademarks (in addition to the Complainant's registrations) that
comprise or include the term CURRENT.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned
certifies that he has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding. Having been duly
selected and being impartial, the undersigned makes the following findings
and conclusions:
The undersigned
has reviewed all the evidence presented in this case by both parties and
has concluded to believe the facts and circumstances as set forth by the
Complainant. For that reason, the undersigned decides that:
a.The domain
name as registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar
to a trade mark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights; and
b.the Respondent
has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and
c.the Respondent
domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
It is therefore
just, right and proper that the domain name "Current.com" be transferred
to the Complainant
DECISION
Based upon
the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i), it is decided
as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED
DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "CURRENT.COM REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT, CURRENT
EVENT, BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT, CURRENT USA..
Dated: April
17, 2000, by Judge Paul A. Dorf, (ret.), Arbitrator
THE HONORABLE
PAUL A. DORF, (ret.)
Arbitrator
Domain
Name Transferred
|