|
Dog.com, Inc. v. Pets.com, Inc.
[Indexed as: Dog.com v. Pets.com]
[Indexed as: dogs.com]
The National Arbitration Forum
Domain Name Dispute Administrative Panel Decision
Case No. 93681
Commenced: 11 February, 2000
Judgment: 31 March, 2000
Presiding Panelists: Honorable Harold Kalina (Ret.), Arbitrator Sally
M. Abel, Esquire, Arbitrator, Honorable Charles K. McCotter, Jr. (Ret.),
Arbitrator
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Trademark -
Servicemark - Confusingly similar - Bad faith - Legitimate interest - Reverse
domain name hijacking
Complainant Dog.com, Inc. owns U.S. Service Mark registered April
20, 1999 for "DOG.COM and Design". Dog.com, Inc. owns and administers
an active Web site using the domain name DOG.COM and registered this domain
name with Network Solutions on August 14, 1997.
Pets.com, Inc. has no active Web site at DOGS.COM. Instead, customers
who type DOGS.COM are redirected to its PETS.COM Web site. The Complainant
contends that once there, the URL is "refreshed"such that DOGS.COM disappears
and the customer's "back" button is disabled. Customers seeking DOG.COM
who mistakenly type DOGS.COM reach the wrong site and get stuck there.
Dog.com, Inc. has received complaints from customers when this occurs.
Pets.com, Inc. obtained the registration on November 30, 1998 by
assignment from the original owner, Electronic Image Publishing, which
registered it on March 27, 1995. Pets.com, Inc. registered the DOGS.COM
domain address on November 30, 1998 and created the link to its PETS.COM
shortly thereafter.
Held, Name Not Transferred to Complainant.
The Complainant has a right in the domain name "DOG.COM", but no
trademark or service mark in "dog.com". The Complainant disclaimed the
words "DOG.COM" in its U.S. Registration. The Respondent seeks dismissal
of instant Domain Name Dispute Complaint. The Respondent further requests
that the Arbitrators make an express finding of fact that the Complainant
has brought this Complaint in bad faith and has attempted to engage in
reverse domain name hijacking.
The Arbitrators decline to make a finding of bad faith or reverse
domain name hijacking against the Complainant.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Panel Decision referred to
--
McCotter, Panelist -
1. The Parties
Complainant:
Dog.com, Inc.
1035 Philadelphia Pike, Suite D
Wilmington, DE 19809 USA
Attn: James McNelis
(302) 762-3974 (Telephone)
(302) 762-3974 (Facsimile)
VS.
Respondent:
Pets.com, Inc.
435 Brannon St.
San Francisco, CA 94103 USA
Attn: Bayard Carlin
(415) 222-9999 (Telephone)
(415) 222-9998 (Facsimile)
2. The Domain Name(s) and Registrar(s)
Domain Name(s): "DOGS.COM"
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Date of domain name registration: 11/30/98
3. Procedural Findings
Date Complaint was sent to Respondent in accordance with Rule 2(a):
02/11/00
Response Due Date: 03/06/00
On February 11, 2000 the Complainant, Dog.com, Inc., filed its complaint
with the National Arbitration Forum ("The Forum") pursuant to the Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy adopted by the Internet Corporation
for Assigned Names and Numbers ("ICANN"). After reviewing the Complaint
for administrative compliance, The Forum transferred the Complaint to the
Respondent, Pets.com, Inc., in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the administrative
proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule
4(d) The Forum immediately notified Network Solutions, ICANN and the Complainant
that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
The Respondent registered the domain name with Network Solutions, the
entity that is the Registrar of the domain names. By registering its domain
name with Network Solutions, the Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute
regarding its domain name through ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy.
The Complaint is based on the following trademark or service mark: DOG.COM
registered April 20, 1999
The above-captioned matter came on for an administrative hearing on
March 27, 2000 before a three (3) arbitrator panel, the Honorable Harold
Kalina (Ret.), Sally M. Abel, Esquire and the Honorable Charles K. McCotter,
Jr. (Ret.), Panel Chair. The Complainant is represented by Patricia Smink
Rogowski, Esquire of Connoly, Bove, Lodge & Hutz, LLP, 1220 Market
St., Wilmington, DE 19899. The Respondent is represented by John C. Baum,
Esquire of Townsend and Townsend and Crew, LLP, Two Embarcadero Center,
8th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94111-3834. This matter is submitted for decision
in accordance with ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
(the "Policy") and Rules (the "Rules"). Upon the written submitted record,
and the following findings and conclusions, we find for the Respondent.
4. Findings of Fact
1. Complainant Dog.com, Inc. owns U.S. Service Mark
Registration No. 2,240,407, registered April 20, 1999 for "DOG.COM
and Design" in color, in Class 42 (Miscellaneous services) for providing
an interactive computer database in the field of dogs, dog care, dog breeds,
dog breeding, dog breeders, dog health, information about dog products,
dog adoption, dog rescue, dog advocacy, dog activities, dog clubs, dog
training; providing on-line facilities for real-time interaction with other
computer users and electronic bulletin boards concerning topics of interest
relating to dogs. Dog.com, Inc. owns and administers an active Web site
using the domain name DOG.COM and registered this domain name with Network
Solutions on August 14, 1997.
2. Pets.com, Inc. has no active Web site at DOGS.COM. Instead,
customers who type DOGS.COM are redirected to its PETS.COM Web site. The
Complainant contends that once there, the URL is "refreshed"such that DOGS.COM
disappears and the customer's "back" button is disabled. Customers seeking
DOG.COM who mistakenly type DOGS.COM reach the wrong site and get stuck
there. Dog.com, Inc. has received complaints from customers when this occurs.
3. Pets.com, Inc. registered and began using the domain address
DOGS.COM (along with others such as KITTENS.COM, GERBIL.COM, and FLEAS.COM)
to describe the products and services of its online pet-related business.
Pets.com, Inc. obtained the registration on November 30, 1998 by assignment
from the original owner, Electronic Image Publishing, which registered
it on March 27, 1995. Pets.com, Inc. registered the DOGS.COM domain address
on November 30, 1998 and created the link to its PETS.COM shortly thereafter.
4. Pets.com, Inc. sells products for pets, including dogs, from
the website linked to the DOGS.COM domain name. Pets.com, Inc. links its
site to descriptive domain addresses so that consumers can enter a familiar
term into their browsers and find a site with related content.
5. The Complainant has a right in the domain name "DOG.COM", but
no trademark or service mark in "dog.com". The Complainant disclaimed the
words "DOG.COM" in its U.S. Registration No. 1,770,301: "no claim is made
to the exclusive right to use "DOG.COM", apart from the mark as shown."
6. Pets.com, Inc. has legitimate interests in owning the DOGS.COM
domain address and using it to identify and promote the type of goods and
services it offers from its PETS.COM website. Pets.com, Inc. registered
and is using the DOGS.COM domain address to describe its pet-related business.
7. The Complainant has failed to show that the Respondent registered
and is using the domain name, DOGS.COM, in bad faith.
8. The Respondent seeks dismissal of instant Domain Name Dispute
Complaint. The Respondent further requests that the Arbitrators make an
express finding of fact that the Complainant has brought this Complaint
in bad faith and has attempted to engage in reverse domain name hijacking.
9. The Arbitrators decline to make a finding of bad faith or reverse
domain name hijacking against the Complainant.
5. Conclusions
Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy requires that the Complainant must prove
each of the following:
1. the domain name is identical or confusingly similar
to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant
has rights.
2. that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests
in respect of the domain name; and,
3. the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad
faith.
The Complainant has not shown any of the above.
6. Decision
We certify that we have acted independently and have no known conflict
of interest to serve as the arbitrators in this proceeding. Having been
duly selected and being impartial, we enter the following decision:
Based upon the above findings and conclusions, we find in favor of
the Respondent. Therefore, the remedies requested by the Complainant pursuant
to Paragraph 4.i of the Policy and Paragraph 15 of the Rules are denied.
The Respondent shall not be required to cancel or to transfer to the Complainant
the domain name "DOGS.COM."
Domain Name Not Transferred
|