|
Morgan Tire & Auto, Inc.
v.
Don-Olson.com, c/o Rask, Inc.
[Indexed as: Morgan Tire v. Orthogonal]
[INDEXED AS: DON-OLSON.COM]
National Arbitration Forum
Domain Name Dispute Administrative Decision
File Number: FA0006000094962
Commenced: 13 June 2000
Judgement: 18 July 2000
Arbitrator: Paul A. Dorf
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution - Use of service mark
and trade name in conjunction with business - Confusingly similar - Root
of business name - Cause customer confusion - Link to competitor site -
No rights or legitimate interests - No evidence to refute - Bad faith registration
- Bad faith use - Domain leased to competitor - Diversion of potential
customers - Not known by domain names - No legitimate noncommercial or
fair use - Preventing reflection of trade name or service mark.
Complainant owned and operated a business under the name DON OLSON
TIRE AND AUTO CENTER. Complainant also used service mark and trade name
DON OLSON in conjunction with another auto business. Respondent registered
the domain name DONOLSON.COM, supposedly for a friend's personal website.
Complainant asks for transfer of domain name.
Held, Name Transferred
The domain name is identical and confusingly similar to Complainant's
service mark and trade name. Domain name is root of Complainant's
business name so this would cause confusion among customers. Adding
to the confusion, the domain name links to the website of Complainant's
competitor.
Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests. Respondent did
not provide any evidence to demonstrate any rights or legitimate interest
in the domain name in dispute.
The domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith. The
domain name in dispute and another one, DONOLSON.COM, are being leased
to a competitor of Complainant. Respondent is intentionally trying
to redirect potential customers of Complainant. Moreover, neither Respondent
nor the competitor used the domain to offer goods or service, have been
known by the domain names, or are making legitimate noncommercial or fair
use of the domain names. Respondent registered the two domain names
mentioned above to prevent Complainant from reflecting its trade name or
service mark.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Cases referred to
Morgan Tire & Auto, Inc. v. Orthogonal Technologies, FA#94961(National
Aribtration Forum, July 18 2000)
Panel Decision referred to
--
Dorf, Panelist: -
PARTIES
The Complainant is Morgan Tire & Auto, Inc., Clearwater, FL, USA
("Complainant"). The Respondent is Don-Olson.com, c/o Rask, Inc., Seminole,
FL, USA ("Respondent").
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME(s)
The domain name at issue is "DON-OLSON.COM", registered with Network
Solutions Inc. ("NSI").
PANELIST(s)
The Honorable Paul A. Dorf (Ret.) as Panelist.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum
("The Forum") electronically on 06/05/2000; The Forum received a hard copy
of the Complaint on 06/05/2000.
On 06/12/2000, NSI confirmed by e-mail to The Forum that the domain
name "Don-olson.com" is registered with NSI and that the Respondent is
the current registrant of the name. NSI has verified that Respondent is
bound by the Network Solutions Service Agreement Version 5.0 and has thereby
agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance
with ICANN's UDRP.
On 06/13/2000, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the "Commencement Notification"), setting a deadline of 07/05/2000
by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted
to Respondent via email, post and fax, and to all entities and persons
listed on Respondent's registration as technical, administrative and billing
contacts by email.
On July 7, 2000 pursuant to Complainant's request to have the dispute
decided by a Single Member panel, The Forum appointed The Honorable Paul
A. Dorf (Ret.) as Panelist.
The following documents were also filed in this proceeding and received
and reviewed by this Panelist::
July 10, 2000 - Complainant's Reply to the Response of Orthogonal Technologies,
Inc. to the Complaint of Morgan Tire and Auto, Inc. Involving the Domain
Name Don Olson.Com..
July 10, 2000 - Additional information submitted by Respondent in response
to Complainant's's Reply to Response
July 11, 2000 - Complainant's Reply to the Second Response of Orthogonal
Technologies, Inc. to the Complaint of Morgan Tire and Auto, Inc. Involving
the Domain Name Don-olson.com
RELIEF SOUGHT
The Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from the
Respondent to the Complainant.
PARTIES' CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
The Complainant contends that the Respondent, by obtaining and using
the domain names that are the subject of this Complaint, has created confusion
among potential customers as the domain names are identical or confusingly
similar to the Complainant's trade name.
B. Respondent
The Respondent contends that they did not register the domain name
don-olson.com to disrupt the Complainant's business and that they did not
acquire the domain name in bad faith.
FINDINGS
The Complainant is the owner and operator of 205 Don Olson Tire &
Auto Center and Olson Tire Total Car Care tire and auto repair stores in
Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and Nevada. Its predecessor interest began
doing business in 1972 at Don Olson Firestone and in February of 1991 when
the Complainant purchased the business, it began changing the name of the
stores to Don Olson Tire and Auto Center, and operates stores under this
name at the present time. On May 17, 1998, Complainant also began to use
the name Olson Tire Total Car Care as the name of some of its stores, and
still uses the service mark and trade name Don Olson in connection with
those stores, as well as the Don Olson Tire & Auto Center Stores.
The Complainant has used the name "Don Olson" in connection with its
businesses since acquiring the business in February 1991. Prior to Complainant's
purchase of the businesses, the name "Don Olson" was in use and had been
in use since its predecessor in interest began doing business in 1972.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 4(a) of the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Policy ("Policy")
directs that the complainant must prove each of the following three elements
to support a claim that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:
(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly
similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect
of the domain name; and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Identical and/or Confusingly Similar
The Complainant's business has been associated with the name "Don Olson"
since 1972, and uses this name as its service mark and trade name in connection
with its business.
The Respondent, Don-Olson.com, c/o Rask, Inc. owns the domain names
donolson.com and don-olson.com. These domain names are the root of the
Complainant's business name, and could cause customer confusion when attempting
to find Complainant's web site. In fact, when the name don-olson.com is
entered, a link is established directly to one of the Complainant's principal
competitors, Tire Kingdom, Inc.
Rights or Legitimate Interests
The Complainant and its predecessor have used the name "Don Olson"
in its trade name and service mark since 1972.
The Respondent has failed to provide any evidence that it has a right
or legitimate interest in the domain name don-olson.com.
Registration and Use in Bad Faith
The Defendant leased the domain names donolson.com and don-olson.com
(see companion case number FA#94961) to one of Complainant's principal
competitors, Tire Kingdom, Inc. The domain names were then linked to Tire
Kingdom's web site. The fact that this link exists proves that Rask and
Tire Kingdom are trying to divert potential customers of Complainant to
Tire Kingdom. Neither the Respondent nor Tire Kingdom have ever used the
domain names in connection with an offering of goods or services of any
kind, have never been known by the domain names, nor are they making a
legitimate noncommercial or fair use the domain names, but instead are
misleadingly diverting customers of Complainant to its competitors web
site.
Also, the Respondent has registered both don-olson.com and donolson.com,
in order to prevent the Complainant from registering any form of the name
"Don Olson" to reflect its trade name or service mark.
These actions, either alone or combined, are evidence of Respondent's
registration and use of the domain name don-olson.com in bad faith pursuant
to Section 4.b.
DECISION
As all three elements required by the ICANN Policy Rule 4(a) have been
satisfied, it is the decision of this panelist that the requested relief
be granted.
Accordingly, for all of the foregoing reasons, it is ordered that the
domain name "don-olson.com" be transferred from the Respondent to the Complainant.
Domain
Name Transferred
|