Evans
v.
Marinex Multimedia Corporation
[Indexed as: Evans v. Marinex Multimedia]
[Indexed as DONUTMAN.COM]
National Arbitration Forum
Case No. FA0003000094347
Commenced: 27 March 2000
Judgment: 27 April 2000
Arbitrator: Harold Kalina
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Registered
Trademark - Continual Use - Nearly Identical - Established Identity - Confusingly
Similar - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use.
Complainant is owner of the registered trademark "The Donut Man",
which he has used in the business of audio and video product production
since 1982. Respondent registered the domain name donutman.com on
15 May 1996, but has not established any business or commercial entity
since. Complainant alleges that donutman.com is nearly identical
to his registered trademark, and that such use of nearly identical names
is confusing in the mind of customers, and thus disruptive to Complainant's
established business.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant.
The domain name as registered by Respondent is nearly identical and
is confusingly similar to Complainant's registered trademark "The Donut
Man". The only difference is the exclusion of the word "the", which
word is usually not present in the domain name of a business. Thus,
this exclusion is of no significance. Respondent has no legitimate
right or interest in the domain name donutman.com. Instead, the domain
name has been registered in bad faith and is being used in bad faith by
Respondent to the detriment of Complainant.
Policies referred to:
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Kalina, Arbitrator: -
The above entitled matter came on for an administrative hearing on April
27, 2000 before the undersigned on the Complaint of Robert C. Evans, hereafter
"Complainant", against Marinex Multimedia Corporation, hereafter "Respondent".
Complainant was represented by: Robert C. Evans, 247 Bayshore Dr., Henderson,
TN, 37075. There was no representation on behalf of Respondent: Upon the
written submitted record, the following DECISION is made:
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
Domain Name: donutman.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions Inc.
Domain Name Registrant: Marinex Multimedia Corporation (Donutman-Dom)
Date of Domain Name Registration: May 15, 1996; updated March 6, 1998;
placed on "Hold" May 15, 1998
Date of Complaint Filed: March 21, 2000
Date of Commencement of the Administrative Proceeding in Accordance
with Rule 2(a) and Rule 4(c): March 27, 2000
Due Date for a Response: April 17, 2000. Respondent did not submit a
Response to the Complainant.
After reviewing the Complaint, and determining it to be in administrative
compliance, the National Arbitration Forum (The Forum) forwarded the Complaint
to the Respondent on March 27, 2000 in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the
administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance
with Rule 4(d), The Forum immediately notified Networks Solutions Inc.,
the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), and the
Complainant that the administrative proceeding had commenced. Respondent
did not submit a response to The Forum within twenty (20) days pursuant
to Rule 5(a).
On May 15, 1996 (updated March 6, 1998), Respondent registered the domain
name donutman.com with Network Solutions, the entity that is the Registrar
of the domain name. On March 28, 2000, Network Solutions verified that
Respondent is the Registrant for the domain name donutman.com, and that
further by registering its domain name with Network Solutions Inc., Respondent
agreed to resolve any dispute regarding its domain name through ICANN's
Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, and the Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Complainant has been conducting commerce using the name "The Donut
Man" since 3-0-1982, acknowledged as the date First Use under trademark
Registration No. 1,674,863, registered with the United States Patent and
Trademark Office on February 11, 1992 to Complainant Robert C. Evans.
2. Complainant as "The Donut Man" has produced thirty pieces of audio
and video product, of which, 8 videos are RIAA registered Gold-status,
and two are Platinum-status. Approximately 4 million tapes, videos, and
CD's have been sold under the name "The Donut Man" since 1982 by Complainant.
3. Respondent since registration of the domain name at issue has not
established any business or commercial entity.
4. The domain name is nearly identical to Complainant's registered trademark
name. The only distinction is the exclusion of the first word in the domain
name, "The", which in E-commerce is of no significance since the word "the"
in a business name is usually discarded in the presentation of a business
domain name.
5. The use of such nearly identical names is confusing in the mind of
customers and public, and disruptive to a viable business entity with an
established identity in the marketplace.
6. Complainant's prayer for relief requests that the domain name donutman.com
be transferred from Respondent Marinex Multimedia Corporation to Complainant
Robert C. Evans.
7. No other legal proceedings have been commenced or terminated in connection
with or relative to this domain name dispute.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the
following conclusions:
1. The domain name donutman.com registered by Respondent is
nearly identical and is in fact confusingly similar to Complainant's registered
trademark name "The Donut Man".
2. Complainant has legitimately used the name "donut man" in business
since 1982. Respondent has no legitimate right or interest in the domain
name donutman.com.
3. The domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith
and to the detriment of Complainant.
DECISION
Based upon the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule
4(i), it is decided as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME donutman.com REGISTERED
BY RESPONDENT Marinex Multimedia Corporation be TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT
Robert C. Evans.
Dated April 27, 2000 by
Judge Harold Kalina (Ret.)
Arbitrator
Domain Name Transferred
|