|
Euroconsult, Inc. v. Henry Hepworth Media Law
& IP Law
[Indexed as: Euroconsult v. Hepworth]
[Indexed as: euroconsult.com]
The National Arbitration Forum
Administrative Panel Decision
Forum File No.00020000093555
Commenced: 3 February 2000
Judgement: 9 March 2000
Presiding Panelist: Judge Irving Perluss [Retired]
Domain name - U.S. Service mark - Confusingly similar - Bad faith
registration - Offer to sell domain name to Complainant or to competitor
for $200,000 - No response filed
Complainant was holder of registered service mark. Respondent
registered domain name "euroconsult.com".
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant
Respondent registration is confusingly similar. Respondent
has no legitimate interest in domain name. Respondent has shown bad
faith in that it conducts no active business under the domain name and
it further offered the domain name for sale following the filing of the
Complaint. Respondent did not file a response to the Complaint.
Policies referred to
ICANN Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
Uniform Domain Name Resolution Policy as supplemented by the National
Arbitration Forum's Supplemental Rules to ICANN's Uniform Domain Resolution
Policy
--
Perluss, Panelist: -
The above-entitled matter came on for an administrative hearing on March
7, 2000, before the undersigned, on the Complaint of Euroconsult, Inc.,
hereinafter "Complainant," against Henry Hepworth Media Law & IP Law,
hereinafter
"Respondent."
Upon the written submitted record, the following DECISION is made:
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
Domain Name: euroconsult.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions
Domain Name Registrant: Henry Hepworth Media Law & IP Law
Date of Domain Name Registration: August 21, 1995
Date Complaint Filed: February 3, 2000
Date of Commencement of Administrative Proceedings in
Accordance with Rule 2(a)[1] and Rule 4(c): February 3, 2000
Due Date for a Response: February 28, 2000
Respondent has not submitted a Response to the Complaint. After
reviewing the Complaint for administrative compliance, The National Arbitration
Forum, hereinafter "The Forum," transferred the Complaint to the Respondent
in compliance with
Rule 2(a), and the administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant
to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule 4(d), The Forum immediately notified
the above Registrar, ICANN and the Complainant that the administrative
proceeding had commenced.
The Respondent had registered the domain name in issue with Network
Solutions, the entity that is the Registrar of the domain name. By registering
its domain name with Network Solutions, the Respondent agreed to resolve
any dispute regarding its domain name through ICANN's Uniform Domain Name
Dispute Resolution Policy.
Respondent did not submit a Response to The Forum within twenty [20]
days pursuant to Rule 5(a).
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Euroconsult, Inc. is the holder of the service mark "Euroconsult"
engineering services which was registered in the United States Patent and
Trademark Office on August 18, 1992, and was numbered l,709,534.
2. The domain name here in issue was a later registration when it was
registered by Respondent with Network Solutions, and the domain name is
confusingly similar to Complainant's service mark.
3. The Respondent does not have a legitimate interest in the domain
name here involved. It is not making a legitimate or fair use of the domain
name as hereinafter found.
4. Respondent has acted in bad faith in that it conducts no active business
under the domain name. Moreover, after the Complaint herein was filed,
Respondent put the domain name up for sale for a price of $200,000. As
a result, customers of Complainant may well suspect the Complainant's business
is for sale and/or Complainant is in need of the $200,000 sought as the
price of the domain name. Moreover, the use of the domain name by the Respondent
or a purchaser of the domain name will lead to the inevitable confusion
of Respondent's customers and prospective customers.
5. Complainant's prayer for relief seeks that the domain name "euroconsult.com"
be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the
following findings and conclusions:
1. The domain name "euroconsult.com" registered by Respondent with Network
Solutions on August 21, 1995, is confusingly similar to Complainant's service
mark and was registered subsequent to Complainant's registration of its
service mark in the United States Trademark and Patent Office.
2. The domain name is not being used by Respondent in an active business
and Respondent has placed it up for sale, obviously to Complainant or to
a competitor of Complainant. In so doing, Respondent has acted in bad faith.
DECISION
Based on the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i),
it is decided as follows:
IT IS DIRECTED THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "euroconsult.com" REGISTERED BY
RESPONDENT Henry Hepworth Media Law & IP Law BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT
EUROCONSULT, INC.
Dated: March 9, 2000,
by Judge Irving H. Perluss [Retired],
Arbitrator.
[1]Any reference to "Rule" or Rules" are to the Internet
Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers [ICANN's]
Rules for
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and Uniform
Domain Name Resolution Policy as supplemented by the
National
Arbitration Forum's Supplemental Rules to ICANN's Uniform
Domain Resolution Policy.
Domain Name Transferred
|