Zale Delaware, Inc. v. Sandra Tedesco
[Indexed as: Zale Delaware v. Tedesco]
[Indexed as: GORDONSJEWELERS.COM et al.]
Forum File No.: FA0005000094799
Commenced: 12 May 2000.
Judgment: 27 June 2000.
Presiding Panelist: Robert R. Merhige, Jr.
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - U.S. Trade
Mark - Failure to respond - Identical - Confusingly similar - Bad faith
registration - Distinction between ".COM" and ".NET".
Complainant operates jewelry stores around the world and owns trademark
registrations for the marks BaileyBanksandBiddle and Gordon'sJewelers in
the U.S. and other countries. Respondent registered the domain names BAILEYBANDSANDBIDDLE.COM,
GORDONSJEWELERS.COM and GORDONSJEWELERS.NET.
HELD, Names Transferred to Complainant.
The Respondent failed to respond to the complaint and was found accordingly
in default. It was nevertheless concluded that the domain names in
issue are identical to Complainant's marks. As a matter of distinction,
it was noted that the mark GordonsJewelers.com and GordonsJewelers.net
were confusingly similar.
Respondent did not offer goods or services under the disputed
names and is not commonly known by the domain names, giving them neither
rights nor a legitimate interest in any of the domain names. It was
further concluded that Respondent's registration of the domain names was
primarily for the purpose of selling or transferring them and constitutes
bad faith.
Policies Referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999.
PARTIES
The Complainant is Zale Delaware, Inc., Irving, TX, USA ("Complainant").
The
Respondent is Sandra Tedesco, New York, NY, USA ("Respondent").
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME(s)
The domain names at issue are "BAILEYBANKSANDBIDDLE.COM",
"GORDONSJEWELERS.COM", and "GORDONSJEWELERS.NET" registered with
Network Solutions, Inc. "NSI".
PANELIST(s) Robert R. Merhige, Jr. as Panelist.
Merhige, Jr., Panelist -
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum
("The Forum")
electronically on 05/09/2000; The Forum received a hard copy of the
Complaint 05/12/2000.
On 05/13/2000, NSI confirmed by e-mail to The Forum that the domain
names
"BAILEYBANKSANDBIDDLE.COM", "GORDONSJEWELERS.COM", and
"GORDONSJEWELERS.NET" are registered with NSI and that the Respondent
is the current registrant of the name. NSI has verified that Respondent
is bound by the Network Solutions Agreement Version 4.0 and has thereby
agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance
with ICANN's UDRP.
On 05/12/2000, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the "Commencement Notification"), setting a deadline of 06/16/2000
by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted
to Respondent via email, post and fax, and to all entities and persons
listed on Respondent's registration as technical, administrative and billing
contacts by email.
On 06/16/2000, pursuant to Complainant's request to have the dispute
decided by a single-member panel, the Forum appointed the undersigned,
Robert R. Merhige, Jr., as Panelist. Having received no Response
from Respondent, using the same contact details and methods as were used
for the Commencement Notification, The Forum transmitted to the parties
a Notification of Respondent Default.
Having reviewed the communications records in the case file, the Administrative
Panel (the "Panel") finds that The Forum has discharged its responsibility
under Paragraph 2(a) of the Uniform Rules "to employ reasonably available
means calculated to achieve actual notice to Respondent." Therefore,
the Panel may issue its Decision based on the documents submitted and in
accordance with the ICANN Policy, ICANN Rules, The Forum's Supplemental
Rules and any rules and principles of law that the panel deems applicable,
without the benefit of any Response from the Respondent.
RELIEF SOUGHT
Complainant
requests the contested names in issue be transferred to it.
PARTIES' CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
Complainant contends that it owns and holds rights to the domain names
in issue and that Respondent has wrongfully registered the internet domain
names "baileybanksandbiddle.com," "gordonsjewelers.com," and "gordonsjewelers.net"
with Network Solutions, Inc. Complainant also alleges that these
domain names are identical or nearly identical to Complainant's trademarks,
which were registered as trademarks long before Respondent registered the
domain names with Network Solutions, Inc. Complainant further asserts
that it owns the exclusive rights in these trademarks, and that the Respondent
has no rights or legitimate interest in the said name. Complainant
further asserts that Respondent registered the domain names primarily for
the purpose of selling or otherwise transferring the domain name registrations
to the Complainant.
B. Respondent
Respondent, having failed to respond to the Complaint herein, is accordingly
in default.
FINDINGS
The record reflects that Complainant is a jewelry retailer headquartered
in Irving, Texas. Complainant sells jewelry through retail stores
and over the internet, having opened its first store in Wichita Falls,
Texas, in 1924. As of the date of the filing of the Complaint herein,
Complainant operates in excess of 1,000 jewelry stores throughout the world
and owns trademark registrations for the marks BaileyBanksandBiddle®,
Gordon'sJewelers®, in the United States and in a number of other countries.
As a consequence of these registrations, it is a fair conclusion that trademark
registration offices around the world have recognized the Complainant's
exclusive rights in the marks in issue by virtue of said offices having
granted registration marks. Specifically, the mark BaileyBanksandBiddle®
was registered for jewelry store services on July 31, 1979; the mark Gordon'sJewelers®
was registered for retail jewelry store services on March 5, 1991.
The record further reflects that Respondent is not offering goods or
services under these names and is not commonly known by the domain names.
I find that Respondent does not have any rights or legitimate interest
in any of the domain names in issue and further that Complainant has the
exclusive right to each of those names.
I further conclude from the unrefuted record that Respondent's registration
of the domain names in issue was primarily for the purpose of selling or
transferring them and her use of them as reflected in the record constitutes
bad faith.
Accordingly, I conclude that Complainant has borne its burden of proof
as required by Paragraph 4(b)(i)(ii) and (iii) of ICANN's Uniform Name
Dispute Policy.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 4(a) of the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Policy ("Policy")
directs
that the complainant must prove each of the following three elements
in order to
demonstrate claims that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:
(1) the domain name registered by the respondent is identical or confusingly
similar to a
trademark or service mark in which the complainant has rights; and
(2) the respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect
of the domain name;
and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
The record reflects that the domain names in issue are, as a practical
matter, identical to Complainant's marks. The only minor distinction,
which at the least is confusingly similar to Complainant's mark, is that
in the mark GordonsJewelers.com there is the addition of the letters ".net."
Identical and/or Confusingly Similar
Each of the domain names in issue appear to be identical to those marks
which are owned by the Complainant herein.
DECISION
Based on the above-stated findings, it is Ordered as follows:
That the domain names BaileyBanksandBiddle.com, GordonsJewelers.com
and GordonsJewelers.net be forthwith transferred to the Complainant.
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict in serving as the arbitrator in this proceeding.
Robert R. Merhige, Jr.
Dated: June 27, 2000
|