Hankison International v. Hankinsoninternational.com
[Indexed as: Hankison International v. Hankinsoninternational.com]
[Indexed as: hankisoninternational.com]
National Arbitration Forum
Forum File No. FA0004000094393
Commenced: 11 April 2000
Judgment: 3 May 2000
Presiding Arbitrator: Judge Irving H. Perluss [Retired]
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - US Unregistered
Trademark - Common law protection Fictitious name registration - Identical
- Confusingly similar - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use.
Complainant's trademark, Hankison International, was not registered.
Registrant registered the domain name, "HANKISONINTERNATIONAL.COM".
Complainant alleged that its trademark was identical and that Respondent
registered the domain name at issue in bad faith.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant
Unregistered marks are protected under common law principles.
Thus, complainant's name has common law protection extending back at least
to 1991. Respondent's fictitious name registration creates only a rebuttable
presumption of an exclusive right to use by the registrant. Complainant
has overcome the presumption by virtue of its common law protection. Complainant
was successful in proving each of the three elements found in paragraph
4(a) of the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
It is clear that the domain name at issue is nearly identical to
Complainant's name and long-used unregistered mark. Respondent has no rights
or legitimate interest in respect to the domain name. Respondent
will create confusion by using the domain name. Lang Luo, the registrant
of the domain name in issue, has demonstrated bad faith by seeking to capitalize
on the goodwill created by his former employer. Respondent is seeking commercial
gain by misleadingly diverting users to its own web site and is not making
a legitimate noncommerical or fair use of the domain name.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Registration Agreements referred to
Network Solutions Domain Name Registration Agreement, effective January
3, 2000
Statutes referred to
California Business and Professions Code ss14411
Langham Act, ss43(a) [15 U.S.C. ss1125(a)]
Cases referred to
Accuride Intern. Inc. v. Accuride Corp. (C.A.9, 1989), 871 F.2d 1531,
10 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1589
Panel Decision referred to
--
Perluss, Panelist : -
The above-entitled matter came on regularly for an administrative hearing
on May 3, 2000, before the undersigned, on the Complaint of Hankison International,
hereinafter "Complainant," against Hankisoninternational.com, LLC, hereinafter
"Respondent."
Upon the written submitted record, the following DECISION is made:
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
Domain Name: Hankisoninternational.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions
Domain Name Registrant: Hankisoninternational.com
Date of Domain Name Registration: January 3, 2000
Date Complaint Filed: April 3, 2000
Date of Commencement of
Administrative Proceedings in
Accordance with Rule 2(a) and
Rule 4(c): April 11, 2000
Due Date for a Response: May 2, 2000
After reviewing the Complaint for administrative compliance, The National
Arbitration Forum, hereinafter "The Forum," transferred the Complaint to
the Respondent in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the administrative proceeding
was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule 4(d), The
Forum immediately notified the above Registrar, ICANN and the Complainant
that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
Respondent had registered the domain name in issue with Network Solutions,
the entity that is the Registrar of the domain name. By registering its
domain name with Network Solutions, Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute
regarding its domain name through ICANN's Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy.
Respondent submitted a timely Response to The Forum pursuant to Rule
5(a).
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Since 1948, Hankison has been a name well known in the compressed
air treatment products business. Complainant's name was changed to Hankison
International in 1991. There, however, has been no trademark registration.
2. Lang Luo, the registrant of the domain name herein involved, was
an employee of
Complainant until October 1999, when he left his employment to work
for a competitor.
3. Lang Luo registered the domain name here in issue on January 3, 2000.
He asserts that Respondent will engage in the business of teaching aerosol
science technology and contamination to people from industry and government.
4. Respondent has filed a fictitious name registration in Lee County,
Florida, for the fictitious name "Hankison International Company."
5. Complainant's prayer for relief seeks that the domain name be transferred
from Respondent to Complainant.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned has concluded
based on the law, the rules and the findings of fact above set forth, as
follows:
1. A cause of action based on an unregistered mark may exist for unfair
competition under the provisions of the Langham Act, §43(a) [15 U.S.C.
§1125(a)].
2. Because trademark rights are acquired and maintained by actual use
of the mark in commerce, unregistered marks also are protected under common
law principles. Complainant's name, accordingly, has common law protection
extending back at least to 1991.
3. Respondent has not cited or directed the Arbitrator to Florida law
relating to fictitious name registration. However, generally such registration
is confined to the county of registration and creates only a rebuttable
presumption of an exclusive right to use by the registrant. [See, for example,
California Business and Professions Code §14411; Accuride Intern.
Inc. v. Accuride Corp. (C.A.9, 1989) 871 F.2d 1531, 10 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1589.]
Complainant has overcome the presumption here by virtue of its common law
protection.
4. The domain name in issue is nearly identical to Complainant's name
[and long-used unregistered mark].
5. Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect to the
domain name, but, to the contrary, Respondent will create confusion by
using the domain name.
6. Lang Luo, the registrant of the domain name in issue, has demonstrated
bad faith by clearly seeking to capitalize on the goodwill created by his
former employer.
7. Respondent is not making a legitimate noncommercial or fair use of
the domain name, for it will seek commercial gain by misleadingly diverting
users to its own web site.
DECISION
Based on the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(i),
it is decided as follows:
IT IS DIRECTED THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "Hankisoninternational.com" REGISTERED
BY RESPONDENT, BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT Hankison International.
Dated: May 3, 2000, by Judge Irving H. Perluss [Retired], Arbitrator.
IRVING H. PERLUSS