GARRY KASPAROV V. AMERICAN COMPUTER COMPANY
[Indexed as: Kasparov v. American Computer]
[Indexed as: Kasparov.com]
National Arbitration Forum
Forum File No.: FA0004000094644
Commenced: 21 April, 2000
Judgment: 30 May, 2000
Panel Member: John A. Bender
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Legitimate
interest - Legitimate usage -- Trademark rights - Bad faith registration
- Famous name - Portal.
Complainant, Garry Kasparov, is the world's top ranked chess player
and relies on this status for both profit and non-profit activities.
Besides being named Kasparov, complainant is the owner of a trademark that
includes the term "Kasparov," and holds a worldwide trademark for "Kasparov."
On June 13, 1996, Respondent registered the domain "Kasparov.com" either
on his own initiative or at the request of Complainant for the benefit
of Complainant. Respondent has, since then, held the "Kasparov.com"
domain name hostage to enforce an alleged debt, using it as a portal to
a website which without permission associates Complainant as an endorser
of Respondent's products and services. Respondent has also offered
"Kasparov.com" for sale by auction on DotBroket.com.
HELD, name transferred to Complainant
The domain name "Kasparov.com" is identical and confusingly similar
to both Complainant's name and trademark to which Respondent has no right
or legitimate interest. Respondent's registration and use of "Kasparov.com"
is in bad faith. Respondent's claims of Complainant's indebtedness
are not addressed.
Policies Referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 6, 1999
John A. Bender, Panelist:-
The above entitled matter came on for an administrative hearing on May
26, 2000, before the undersigned on the Complaint of Garry Kasparov, hereafter
"Complainant", against American Computer Company, hereafter "Respondent".
Complainant was represented by David A. Barrett, Esq., Latham & Watkins,
1001 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington D.C. 20004. Respondent was
represented by Daniel L. Grossman, Esq., 11 Commerce Drive, Cranford, NJ
07016?3515. Upon the written submitted record, the following DECISION
is made:
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
Domain Name: Kasparov.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name Registrant: American Computer Company
Date of Domain Name Registration: June 13, 1996
Date Complaint Filed: April 21, 2000
Date of Commencement of Administrative Proceeding in Accordance with
Rule 2(a)[1] and Rule 4(c): April 24, 2000
Due date for a Response: Response Received.
After reviewing the Complaint, and determining it to be in administrative
compliance, the National Arbitration Forum (The Forum) forwarded the Complaint
to the Respondent on April 24, 2000, in compliance with Rule 2(a), and
the administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c).
In compliance with Rule 4(d), The Forum immediately notified Network Solutions,
Inc. (Network Solutions), the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and
Numbers (ICANN), and the Complainant that the administrative proceeding
had commenced. Respondent submitted a response to The Forum within
twenty (20) days pursuant to Rule 5(a).
On June 13, 1996, Respondent registered the domain name "Kasparov.com"
with Network Solutions, the entity that is the Registrar of the domain
name. On April 24, 2000, Network Solutions verified that Respondent
is the Registrant for the domain name "Kasparov.com", and that further
by registering its domain name with Network Solutions, Respondent has agreed
to resolve disputes regarding its domain name through ICANN's Rules for
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, and the Uniform Domain Name
Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. That Complainant
is named Kasparov and is the owner of a trademark that includes the term
"Kasparov".
2. That Complainant is the
owner of at least 1 trademark registration worldwide for "Kasparov".
3. That in June, 1996,
Respondent registered the Kasparov.com domain name on his own initiative,
or at Complainant's request, for the benefit of Complainant.
4. That Complainant
has a substantial financial investment in his business as the world's top
ranked chess player and related chess activities for profit and not?for?profit.
5. That Respondent registered
and used the domain name "Kasparov.com" in bad faith and has no rights
to legitimate interests in respect to said domain name. The following
is evidence of Respondent's bad faith:
a. That Respondent is
holding the Kasparov.com domain name hostage to enforce an alleged debt.
b. Respondent has used
the domain name as the portal to a website which without permission associates
Mr. Kasparov as an endorser of Respondent's products and services.
c. Respondent has posted
the domain name for sale by auction at DotBroker.com.
6. Complainant's prayer
for relief requests that the domain name "Kasparov.com" be transferred
from Respondent to Complainant.
CONCLUSIONS
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being impartial, the undersigned makes the
following findings and conclusions:
1. The domain name "Kasparov.com",
registered by Respondent on June 13, 1996 with Network Solutions, is identical
and confusingly similar to Complainant's name and trademark in which Complainant
has rights and to which Respondent has no right or legitimate interests.
2. Respondent admitted
he registered and acquired the domain name "Kasparov.com" primarily for
Complainants' purposes, but now uses the domain name as a portal to a website
in which Complainant is criticized and condemned for his commercial conduct.
Passing no judgment on Respondent's claims of complainants' indebtedness
(which is not properly addressed in this proceeding), Respondent's registration
and use of "Kasparov.com" is in bad faith.
DECISION
Based upon the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule
4(i), it is decided as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAME "Kasparov.com" REGISTERED
BY RESPONDENT BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT.
Dated: May 30, 2000, by John A. Bender, Arbitrator.
[1] Any reference to "Rule" or "Rules" are to ICANN's Rules for Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy as supplemented by the National Arbitration Forum's Supplemental
Rules to ICANN's Uniform Domain Resolution Policy.
Domain
Name Transferred
|