|
Louis Vuitton v. Net-Promotion
[Indexed as: Vuitton v. Net-Promotion]
[Indexed as: LUISVUITTON.com]
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center
Administrative Panel Decision
Case No. WIPO D2000-0430
Commenced: 22 May 2000
Judgment: 7 July, 2000
Presiding Panelist: François Dessemontet
Domain name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - U.S. Trademark
- European Trademark - Identical Pronunciation - Confusingly similar -
Bad faith registration - Bad faith use - Valuable Consideration in Excess
of Out of Pocket Costs - World famous names - World famous marks - Well
known marks.
Complainant was registrant of trademark Louis Vuitton with United
States, the European Community, and 96 additional countries. Marks
have been used for Complainant's enterprise and activities. Complainant
owns the domain name vuitton.com. Respondent registered the domain
name, luisvuitton.com.
Held, Name Transferred to Complainant.
The domain name registered by Respondent is confusingly similar to
the trademark names and domain name of Complainant. The slight difference
in spelling is not reflected in a difference in pronunciation that would
be noticeable at all to most English or Spanish speakers. No evidence
has been provided either of any circumstances giving rise to a right or
legitimate interest in the domain name.
The fact Respondent has registered domain names referring to numerous
other well-known marks is prima facie evidence of a registration in bad
faith. Further, the obvious intent to pressure Complainant into buying
back the domain name for a substantial sum, in excess of any out of pocket
costs directly related to the domain name, is in itself a reason to find
bad faith.
Policies referred to
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Agreement on the Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property
Paris Convention for the protection of Industrial Property
Panel Decision referred to
--
Dessemontet, Panelist: -
1. The Parties
A. The Complainant is Louis Vuitton Malletier, 2 rue de Pont Neuf,
Industrial Property Department, 75034 Paris Cedex 01, France (Vuitton).
B. The Respondent is Net-Promotion, Inc. c/o Dott. Balanzone, via Codussi
14, Bergamo, BG 24100, Italy, with other addresses at Net-Promotion, Inc.
c/o Stefano
Brozzoni, 2 avenue des Calanques Le Calandal, Cassis 13260, France,
and Net-Promotion, Inc., 1706 Frant Street, Suite 591, Lynden, WA 98264,
U.S.A.
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
A. This dispute concerns the domain name "luisvuitton.com".
B. The Registrar with which the domain names is registered is Network
Solutions, Inc.
3. Procedural History
A. The WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center (hereafter : "the Center")
received Vuitton's complaint on May 12, 2000 (electronic version) and May
15, 2000, (hardcopy).
B. On May 16, 2000, the Center sent a request for registrar verification
in connection with this case to Network Solutions. The registrar verification
response confirmed that the registrant is Net-Promotion Inc. and that the
administrative contact is Stefano Brozzoni.
C. The Center verified that the complaint satisfies the formal requirements
on May 22, 2000. The notification of complaint was transmitted on May 22,
2000, and the
notification of the Respondent's default on June 16, 2000.
D. On June 26, 2000, the Center advised the Parties that Professor François
Dessemontet had been appointed as the panelist in this proceeding.
E. The decision has been forwarded by the panelist to the Center within
the time limit to July 9, 2000.
4. Factual Background and the Parties' Contentions
A. The Trademark
The Complaint is based on the trademark Louis Vuitton. The Complainant
is the owner of the following registered trademarks:
(1) In the U.S.A. Louis Vuitton, Reg. No. 1,045,932, September 10,
1976;
(2) In the European Community Louis Vuitton, Reg. No. 15,610, March
16, 1998;
(3) As well as trademarks registered in 96 additional countries in
the world.
B. The Complaint
The complaint alleges that the trademark is used and has never been
abandoned. The grounds for the complaint are:
(1) The domain name is identical to the trademark Louis Vuitton.
(2) The Respondent is not making a legitimate non commercial fair use
of the domain name because:
(a) the Respondent has never been known by or used the trademark or
similar trade or service mark.
(b) there is no relation between the Complainant and the Respondent,
nor a license, nor an authorization to use the complainant's works.
(c) the Respondent does not offer any advertising or goods or services
under the domain's name.
(3) The Respondent registered the domain in bad faith because:
(a) the Respondent was posting an advertisement stating that "this domain
is available".
(b) the Respondent was unwilling to transfer the domain name at the
Complainant's demand unless a substantial sum of money exceeding the costs
directly related to the domain name was paid.
(c) the Respondent also owns the registrations for numerous other domain
names which are the names or marks of well known business entities, which
suggests an intent to profit from their activities.
In its complaint the Complainant requests that the ownership of the
domain name in issue be transferred to it.
C. The Response
The Respondent has not submitted any response.
5. Discussion and Findings
A. Identical or Confusingly Similar Domain Name
The Complainant owns the trademarks and trade names Louis Vuitton among
others. Further the Complainant owns the domain name vuitton.com.
Those marks and names are world famous and well known within the meaning
of Art. 6bis of the Paris Convention for the protection of Industrial Property
and Art. 16, para. 2 of the Agreement on the Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual
Property.
As such, any use by a person other than the Complainant of the trademark,
trade name or domain name is likely to raise confusion in the public between
the
Complainant's enterprise and activities and this other person's business.
The only difference between the trademark of the Complainant "Louis
Vuitton" and the domain name "luisvuitton.com" is the absence of the letter
"o" in luisvuitton.com.
This small difference is not perceptible in the English or the Spanish
languages, for example, so that the way to pronounce both words in these
languages would be
identical or almost identical. As such few English or Spanish speakers
would notice the difference, and most search engines would lead to luisvuitton.com
as well as
vuitton.com. The panel therefore finds that the domain name of the
Respondent is confusingly similar to the trademark names and domain name
of the Complainant.
B. Respondent's Rights or Legitimate Interests in the Domain Name
The Respondent defaulting in the present proceedings has not provided
evidence of any circumstance giving rise to a right or legitimate interest
in the domain name. On the contrary, a short perusal of the list of domain
names that are registered by the Respondent might lead to believe that
the Respondent either registers suggestive domain names such as "sexogratis2",
"hotsex4" or "babies4free" or domain names referring to well known entities
or marks such as "Mumm-Reims", ChampagneKrug" or "ChampagneMoët" and
the names of banks.
C. Domain Name Registered and Used in Bad Faith
The list of domain names registered by the Respondent is prima facie
evidence of a registration in bad faith, in the absence of any explanation
given by the Respondent on the possible grant of a license in its favor
by the holders of the trademarks Krug, Mumm, Moët and other well known
brands.
Further, the Respondent's message of July 3, 2000, mentions under points
5 and 6 "il dominio sta per essere ceduto a titolo gratuito ad un società
greca interessata. Se
siete interessati ad evitarlo, esiste un modo... A buon intenditore
poche parole!" which translates approximately "the domain is about to be
given free to a Greek company interested in it. If you are interested in
avoiding that, there exists a way... to those who understand few words!".
Therefore, the intent to pressure the Complainant into buying back the
domain name is obvious, which is in itself a reason to find bad faith,
absent exceptional
circumstances.
6. Decision
In light of the foregoing, the panel decides that the domain name registered
by the Respondent is confusingly similar to the corresponding trademark
of the Complainant, that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests
in respect of this domain name and that the domain name in issue has been
registered and is being used in bad faith by the Respondent.
Accordingly the panel requires that the domain name luisvuitton.com
be transferred to the Complainant.
Domain Name Transferred
|