|
Marriott
International Inc. v. Alfred Radu
[Indexed as:
Marriott International v. Radu]
[Indexed as:
Marriot-Hotels.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Administrative
Panel Decision
Case No: FA0002000093637
Commenced:
February 24, 2000
Judgement:
March 30, 2000
Presiding Panelist:
Tyrus R. Atkinson, Jr.
Domain name
- Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy - ICANN - US Service Mark
- US Patent and Trademark - Identical - Confusingly similar - Wide
use and advertisement - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use
Complainant
holds the Service Mark in the name "Marriott Hotels" from the United States
Patent and Trademark Office, since 1984. Registrant registered the domain
name, Marriot-Hotels.com,
on December 26, 1998. Complainant operates one of the world's
largest hotel, restaurant and hospitality companies under the name
Marriott or Marriott Hotels. Complainant contends that Respondent has no
legitimate interests in respect to the domain name and that Respondent
registered the domain name in bad faith.
Held,
Name Transferred to Complainant
The domain
name "Marriott?Hotels.com" registered by the Respondent with Network
Solutions Inc. is identical to the Complainant's registered Service
Mark "Marriott Hotels". Respondent registered the domain name long
after "Marriott Hotels" had been made into a well known and famous name
by Complainant through extensive use and advertisement. Respondent knew
or should have known of the existence of the entities known as Marriott
Hotels.
Respondent
has no legitimate or valid interest in the domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com".
Respondent's retention of said domain name causes and would cause confusion
and could
lessen
Complainant's rights to use and profit by its registered Service Mark and
established use of the name, Marriott Hotels.
The only
use to which Respondent has used the domain name as shown in this Record
is to attempt to sell the domain name either to Complainant or some other
party for a sum in excess of any costs associated with its registration.
Respondent registered and acquired the domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com"
in bad faith.
Policies
referred to
Uniform
Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted by the Internet Corporation
for Assigned
Names and Numbers (ICANN) on October 24, 1999.
Registration
Agreements referred to
Network
Solutions Service Agreement Version 4.0
1.
The Parties
An administrative
hearing was held on the merits of the above styled case on March 30, 2000,
before Tyrus R. Atkinson, Jr., Arbitrator, on the Complaint filed by Marriott
International Inc. the "Complainant", against Alfred Radu, the "Respondent".
Complainant was represented by James Davis, II of the firm of Arent, Fox,
Kintner, Plotkin & Kahn, PLLC, 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington,
DC 20036?5339. No representation was submitted in behalf of
Respondent.
Based upon the written record submitted to the Arbitrator, and upon nothing
else, a decision and findings are made as follows:
2.
Jurisdictional Findings
An administrative
proceeding was commenced by Complainant against Respondent pursuant to
the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted by the Internet
Corporation
for Assigned
Names and Numbers (ICANN) on October 24, 1999.
A Complaint
submitted by Complainant was received on February 7, 2000, by the National
Arbitration Forum. Complainant certified that the Complaint and the Complaint
Transmittal Sheet was sent or transmitted to the Respondent on February
4, 2000.
Administrative
proceedings commenced upon February 24, 2000. Respondent was notified to
submit a Response within twenty (20) days the date of receipt of notification.
Respondent
neither filed,
submitted nor served the National Arbitration Forum with a written response
to the Complaint. Respondent is in default.
The National
Arbitration Forum notified Network
Solutions, Inc. of the initiation of this action.
Network Solution,
Inc. verified that it is the Registrar of the domain name "MARRIOTT?HOTELS.COM",
that the Registrant is Alfred Radu, 173 East Starcrest Dr., Orem, UT 84085,
and that the domain registration is on "Hold" status. Network
Solutions, Inc. further verified that the Registrant, Alfred Radu,
is bound by the
Network
Solutions Service
Agreement
Version 4.0
The National
Arbitration Forum complied in this case with the procedural requirements
set out in the Policy and Rules adopted by ICAAN.
3.
Statement of the Case
Complainant
is the owner of numerous trademark registrations worldwide for marks that
use the name "Marriott", including trademark registration in the United
States. Complainant contends that the domain name, "Marriott?Hotels.com"
be transferred to Complainant from Respondent who presently holds the domain
name "Marriott?Hotels.com" and has held the said domain name since December
26, 1998.
Complainant
contends that it operates hotels, restaurant and hospitality companies
under the name Marriott and that each year millions of customers obtain
products and services offered under the name Marriott. Millions of individuals
are exposed to the name Marriott through television programs, radio broadcasts
and print media. Because of substantial advertising expenditures and sales,
the name Marriott has become well known and famous. Complainant contends
that Respondent has no legitimate interests in respect to the domain name
and that Respondent registered the domain name in bad faith.
4.
Findings of Fact
1. Complainant
is the owner of hotels bearing the name Marriott Hotels.
2.
As early as 1957, Marriott adopted and began using the name Marriott in
interstate and international commerce in connection with its goods and
services. The name has been
used continuously
and extensively since that time.
3.
Complainant has, since 1984, held a Service Mark in the name "Marriott
Hotels" from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
4.
Complainant operates one of the world's largest hotel, restaurant and hospitality
companies under the name Marriott or Marriott Hotels.
5.
The name Marriott and Marriott Hotels have been and continue to be widely
used, advertised, and publicized throughout the United States and the world.
Millions of dollars have been spent by Complainant to put the name Marriott
before the public for business reasons. Millions of customers have used
Marriott facilities and services.
6.
The domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com" is virtually identical to the registered
Service Mark "Marriott Hotels".
7.
Respondent registered the domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com" on December
26, 1998. This was long after the name "Marriott Hotels" had been made
into a well known and famous name by Complainant through extensive use
of the name by numerous methods.
8.
Respondent knew or should have known of the existence of the entities known
as Marriott Hotels.
9.
No evidence exists in the Record to show that Respondent has any interests
or rights to the name Marriott Hotels in any way whatsoever. No evidence
exists in the Record to show that Respondent intends a legitimate use of
the domain name or to what purpose Respondent could use the domain name
in any legitimate manner.
10. The
only use to which Respondent has used the domain name as shown in this
Record it to attempt to sell the domain name either to Complainant or some
other party for a sum in excess of any costs associated with its registration.
Respondent has contacted Complainant directly with an offer to sell the
domain name.
11. The
use of the domain name by Respondent could cause substantial damage to
the rights and property of Complainant.
12.
Respondent has no legitimate or valid interest in the domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com".
Respondent's retention of said domain name causes and would cause confusion
and could
lessen Complainant's
rights to use and profit by its registered Service Mark and established
use of the name, Marriott Hotels.
5.
Conclusions
1. The
domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com" registered by Respondent with Network
Solutions, Inc. is identical with the words appearing on Complainant's
Service Mark, and is similar to other of Complainant's marks in which it
has rights, and to which Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests.
2.
Respondent registered and acquired the domain name "Marriott?Hotels.com"
in bad faith.
6.
Decision
The domain
name "Marriott-Hotels.com" registered by Respondent, Alfred Radu, be transferred
to the Complainant, Marriott International, Inc.
Domain
Name Transferred
|