Samsonite Corporation v. Colony Holding
[Indexed as: Samsonite v. Colony Holding]
[Indexed as: Samsoniteorg]
National Arbitration Forum
Administrative Panel Decision
Case No. FA 0003000094313
Commenced: March 17, 2000
Judgment: April 17, 2000
Sole Panelist: Judge James Buchele (Retired)
Domain Name - Domain name dispute resolution policy - Bad faith use
- Bad faith registration - Identical - Distinct - Confusingly similar
- Service mark - Travel Goods - Distinct - Advertising - Comparative Advertising
- Comparative Products - Non Commercial Use - Federal Trademark Division
Act - Intention - Use of Domain Name - Proper Party - Name Transfer.
Complainant is registrant of SAMSONIT> trademark in both U.S. and
other countries worldwide, and is also registrant of domain SAMSONITE.COM.
Respondent is registrant of domain name SAMSONITE6.ORG who stated intention
in using domain name is to establish a non-commercial web page showing
comparative products. Complainant alleges its registered marks and registered
domain name were identical or confusingly similar, and that Respondent
registered domain name at issue in bad faith.
Held: Domain Name transferred to Complainant
It is clear that domain name registered by Respondent is nearly identical
or confusingly similar to the business name of the Complainant. It
is also clear that Respondent has no legitimate interests with respect
to domain name of SAMSONITE6.0RG. Since registering the domain name, Respondent
has not made use of domain name, although at least three separate attempts
have been made to transfer the said domain name to others. The primary
purpose for registering domain name was to disrupt business of the Complainant
for the personal gain of the Respondent. This is bad faith registration
and use.Although Respondent claims that his proposed use of site is for
"non-commercial purposes" and its content will be for the purpose of comparative
advertising, Respondent's evidence is not sufficient to establish that
his use is exempt from Federal Trademark Division Act.Policies Referred
to:Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999Legislation
Referred to:Federal Trademark Division ActRegistration Agreements Referred
to:Network Solutions, Inc. Domain Name Registration Agreement, effective
October 1998
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
Domain Name: Samsonite.org
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name Registrant: Colony Holding Ent. Inc. (Samsonite6.org)
Date of Domain Name Registration: October 29, 1998
Date Complaint Filed: March 13, 2000
Date of Commencement of Administrative Proceeding in Accordance with
Rule 2(a) and Rule 4(c): March 17, 2000.
Due date for a Response: April 10, 2000.After reviewing the Complaint,
and determining it to be in administrative compliance, the National Arbitration
Forum (The Forum) forwarded the Complaint to the Respondent on March 17,
2000 in compliance with Rule 2(a), and the administrative proceeding was
commenced pursuant to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule 4(d), The Forum
immediately notified Network Solutions, Inc. (Network Solutions), the Internet
Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), and the Complainant
that the administrative proceeding had commenced. The Respondent responded
to The Forum by memorandum dated March 22, 2000, pursuant to Rule 5(a).
I have concluded to not consider materials submitted by the parties after
this date.On October 29, 1998, Respondent registered the domain name "Samsonite.org"
with Network Solutions, the entity that is the Registrar of the domain
name. On March 13, 2000, Network Solutions verified that Respondent is
the Registrant for the domain name "Samsonite.org", and that further by
registering its domain name with Network Solutions, Respondent agreed to
resolve any dispute regarding its domain name through ICANN's Rules for
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, and the Uniform Domain Name
Dispute Resolution Policy.
FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS
1. The Complainant is a corporation engaged in the manufacture and sale
of all manner of travel goods including luggage, clothing, umbrellas, leather
goods, tables, chairs, luggage carts, luggage locks, pill organizers, travel
clothing irons and other similar items and retain store services. 2. The
Respondent is an individual who states intent to use the domain name to
establish a "non-commercial use web page showing comparative products".
Respondent claims to have assigned the domain name to Peter George on December
29, 1999. This transfer has not been acknowledged by Network Solutions.
Respondent is therefore a proper party to this action as no transfer can
be accomplished until acknowledged by Network Solutions. 3. Complainant
holds the exclusive rights to at least sixty-four registrations with the
United States Patent and Trademark Office for the use of the trademark
"Samsonite". In addition, Complainant has registered the trademark "Samsonite"
in countries throughout the world to protect the use of the "Samsonite"
trademark. 4. Complainant is registrant of the domain name "samsonite.com"
and maintains an active web site using this trademark name. 5. On October
29, 1998, Respondent registered the name "Samsonite.org" with Network Solutions,
Inc. No use has been made of the name although at least three separate
attempts have been made to transfer the subject domain name to others within
the twelve-month period preceding the filing of this complaint. 6. Respondent
claims that his proposed use of the site is for "non-commercial purposes"
and its content will be for "comparative advertising". Respondent's evidence
is not sufficient to establish that his use is exempt from the Federal
Trademark Division Act, to-wit: (a) To establish an exempt use for comparative
advertising or promotion, the proponent should identify their own competing
goods or services; (b) To establish non-commercial use, the proponent should
be able to identify the non-commercial purpose and objectives for the use
of the trademark in more detail than "comparative advertising"; (c) Comparison
of advertising for products generally offered for retail sale is a commercial
activity as it may affect the business of the concerns involved; (d) Use
of the domain name "Samsonite.org" does not reflect the proposed use described
by Respondent. Naming a web site whose purpose is to compare advertising
with the name of one of the companies to be displayed is not a neutral
"comparative" use and is inconsistent with the concept of non-commercial
use. 7. The domain name in dispute is nearly identical and confusingly
similar to the trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has established
rights. 8. Respondent has not established any right or legitimate interest
with respect to the domain name "Samsonite.org". 9. Respondent registered
the domain name "Samsonite.org" in bad faith and has no legitimate interests
in respect to said domain name. The following is evidence of bad faith:
(a) Respondent has shown no legitimate business interest in any product
or service that uses the name "Samsonite"; (b) Respondent registered the
commonly known trademark and business name of "Samsonite" with actual or
constructive knowledge of its use by Complainant; (c) That the domain name
"Samsonite.org" would create a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant's
mark and would dilute Complainant's right in the use of its trademark and
established business name; (d) Use of the domain name by Respondent would
confuse, mislead and disrupt customers of Complainant's business; (e) Respondent
has sought payment from Claimant in exchange for transfer of the domain
name which is in excess of his documented out-of-pocket expenses related
to the domain name; (f) Respondent has offered to at least two other parties
to transfer the domain name which demonstrates a lack of intent or purpose
to utilize the domain name to further his own legitimate business interests;
(g) The primary purpose for registering the domain name "Samsonite.org"
is to disrupt the business of Complainant for the personal gain of Respondent.
10. The Complainant's prayer for relief requests that the domain name "Samsonite.org"
be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
DECISION
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and has no
known conflict of interest to serve as the Arbitrator in this proceeding.
Having been duly selected, and being neutral, the undersigned makes the
following DECISION:Based upon the foregoing Findings and Conclusions, I
find the domain name registered by the Respondent is nearly identical or
confusingly similar to the business name of the Complainant; that Respondent
has no legitimate interest with respect to the domain name of "Samsonite.org";
that Respondent registered the domain name in bad faith for the primary
purpose of disrupting the business of a competitor, the Complainant herein.
Accordingly, pursuant to Rule 4(i), it is decided that the domain name
"Samsonite.org" should be transferred from Respondent to the Complainant.
Domain
Name Transferred
|