Mayor
Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc. & Karemor International, Inc.
v.
Wende M.
Boone
[Indexed as:
Karemor v. Wende M. Boone]
[Indexed as:
Vitamist.com]
National Arbitration
Forum
Domain Name
Dispute Decision
Forum File
No.: 0003000094295
Commenced:
March 13, 2000
Judgment:
April 12, 2000
Presiding Panelist:
Judge Ralph Yachnin, (Ret.)
Domain name
- Domain name dispute resolution policy - U.S. Trademark - Identical -
Confusingly similar - Bad faith registration - Bad faith use.
Complainant
was registrant of United States trademark. Registrant registered the domain
name, vitamist.com. Complainant alleged that its registered marks and the
registered domain name were identical and that Respondent registered the
domain name at issue in bad faith.
Held,
Name Transferred to Complainant.
The Complainant
must establish both bad faith registration and bad faith use.
It is clear
that the domain name VITAMIST.COM is identical or confusingly similar to
the trademark registered and used by Complainant, VITAMIST. It is also
clear that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in respect of
the domain name. This is bad faith registration.
Respondent
also used the domain name vitamist.com in violation of Complainant's policy
regarding the use of its trademarks despite that fact that it has agreed
not to use the domain name. The use of said domain name caused damage
to Complainant by diverting traffic away from Complainant's website for
its own gain. This was found to be bad faith use.
Policies
referred to
Uniform Domain
Name Dispute Resolution Policy, adopted August 26, 1999
Decision
referred to
--
Yachnin, Panelist:
-
Procedural
History
The above
entitled matter came on for an administrative hearing on April 12, 2000,
before the undersigned, on the complaint of Mayor Pharmaceutical Laboratories,
Inc (hereinafter referred to as "Complainant Mayor"), and on the complaint
of the co-complainant Karemor International, Inc. (hereinafter referred
to as "Complainant Karemor" against Wende M. Boone (hereinafter referred
to as "Respondent"). The Complainant was represented by Robert J. Hartmann,
Esq., of Counsel to Robert J. Hartmann, Ltd., 2406 South 24th "Street,
Phoenix, Arizona 85034. The Respondent has not filed a response to the
complaint, and there has been no representation on behalf of the Respondent
interposed. Upon the written submitted record, the following decision is
made:
Procedural
Findings
Domain Name:
VITAMIST.COM
Domain Name
Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name
Registrant: Wende M. Boone
Date of Domain
Registration: May 28, 1997
Date Complaint
Filed: March 13, 2000
Due Date for
Response: April 5, 2000
Respondent
did not submit a response to the complaint.
Date of Commencement
of Administrative Proceeding in Accordance with Rule
2(a)1 and
Rule 4(c) : March 13, 2000.
After reviewing
the Complaint, and determining it to be in administrative compliance, the
National Arbitration Forum (hereinafter referred to as "The Forum") forwarded
the complaint to the Respondent on March 13, 2000 in compliance with Rule
2(a), and the administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant to Rule
4(d). The Forum immediately notified the above Registrar, Network Solutions,
the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), and the
complainants, that the administrative proceedings had been commenced. Respondent
did not submit a response to The Forum within twenty (20) days pursuant
to Rule 5(a) .
On May 28,
1997, Respondent registered the domain name "VITAMIST.COM" with Network
Solutions, Inc., the entity that is the Registrar of the domain name.
By registering the domain name "VITAMIST.COM" with Network Solutions, Inc.,
Respondent agreed to resolve any dispute regarding its domain name through
ICANN's Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy and the
Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.
Findings
Of Fact
1. Complainant
Mayor is in the business of manufacturing nutrient preparations consisting
of vitamins, minerals, herbal/botanical extracts and combinations thereof.
The Complainant
Karemor is principally engaged in the business of exclusive marketing of
the Complainant Mayor's nutrient preparations through the guiding principals
of network marketing.
All products
are sold to the general public exclusively through registered distributors
of the Complainant Karemor and most of the products marketed are labeled
with the
VitaMist trademark.
3. On December
4, 1986, Complainant Mayor filed with the United States Patent and Trademark
Office, an application for registration for the trademark VITAMIST, and
on April 11, 1989, the United States Patent and Trademark Office issued
the registration for VITAMIST under registration number 1,533,832 for breath
freshener composition.
4. On May 11,
1984, Yurika Food Corporation filed with the United States Patent and Trademark
Office, an application for registration for the trademark VITA-MIST, and
on May 5, 1985, the United States Patent and Trademark Office issued the
registration for VITA-MIST under registration number 1,322,946 for liquid
vitamin/breath freshener preparation. This trademark was subsequently assigned
to the Complainant Mayor and recorded at the United States Patent and Trademark
Office on October 6, 1988 in reel 0620 at frame 598.
5. In addition,
the following trademarks for VITAMIST were issued to the
Complainant
Mayor:
Date
Country Registration number
March
15, 1991 Australia
A552266
September
5, 1997 Japan 2,722,931
June
26, 1992 United Kingdom 1505073
February
25, 1994 Mexico 453,204
6. On May 28,
1997, Registrant registered the domain name in controversy "VITAMIST.COM"
with the Registrar Network Solutions, Inc.
7. Shortly
after registering the domain name, Complainant learned of the registration
of the domain
name in question when it found that the Respondent established a web site
at the VITAMIST.COM address. When the Respondent was notified that the
registration and use of the name infringed upon the Complainants rights,
Respondent agreed to, and did abort the web site.
8. Upon attempting
to register the name in 1999, the Complainant Karemor learned that the
name was still registered to Respondent. When Complainants then attempted
to have Respondent assign the domain name to the Complainant Karemor, Respondent
advised that the domain name was transferred to one Ray Terlaga. Notwithstanding
the aforesaid, to date no assignment has ever been filed or entered with
the Registrar transferring the domain name to said Ray Terlaga.
9. At the time
of the registration, the Registrant was, and still is, a distributor of
the
Complainant.
10. When Respondent
became a distributor of Claimant Karemor, Respondent signed an agreement
by which Respondent agreed to abide by the policies and procedures of the
Complainant Karemor.
11. Section
XVI(A) of the Complainant Karemor policies and procedures states that "[t]he
name Karemor and the names of all KareMor Products are the trademarks of
KareMor International, Inc. and or Mayor Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.
Only KareMor is authorized to produce and market products and literature
under these trademarks." Subsection (C) states that "[n]o person shall
use the KareMor name, logos, trademarks or copyrighted materials in any
advertising not produced by KareMor without the express written permission
from KareMor."
12. The registered
name "VITAMIST.COM", is identical, or confusingly similar, to the trademark
in which Complainant has rights, and the Respondent does not have any right
or legitimate interests in respect to the domain names "VITAMIST", and
the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
13. Complainant
has been damaged by the acts of the Registrant and will continue to be
damaged unless the domain names "VITAMIST.COM is transferred to Complainant.
14. Respondent
made no legitimate use of the domain name and seeks to profit from its
registration of the name by trading upon the good will associated with
Complainant's marks.
15. Complainant's
prayer for relief requests that the domain names be transferred from the
Respondent to the Complainant KAREMOR..
Conclusions
The undersigned
certifies that he has acted independently and has no known conflict of
interest to serve as Arbitrator in this proceeding. Having been duly selected,
and being impartial, the undersigned makes the following findings and conclusions:
1. The domain
name "VITAMIST.COM" is identical or confusingly similar to Complainant's
trademarks "VITAMIST" to which Respondent has no right or legitimate interests.
2. Respondent
registered and used the name "VITAMIST.COM" in spite of the fact that prior
thereto it had agreed not to do so as more particularly set forth in Paragraph
"11".
3. By use of
the domain name, the Respondent intentionally attempted to attract, for
commercial gain, internet users of the Respondent's web site or other on-line
location, by creating a likelihood of confusion with the complainant's
mark as to the source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement of the
Respondent's web site or location of a product or service of the Respondent's
web site or location.
4. The Respondent's
action in using the name "VITAMIST.COM" was done primarily for the purpose
of disrupting the business of the Complainant.
5. Respondent
registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
6. The Respondent
has no right or legitimate interest in respect to the domain name.
Decision
Based upon
the above findings and conclusions, and pursuant to Rule 4(I), it is decided
as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED
DIRECTS THAT THE DOMAIN NAMES "VITAMIST.COM", REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT,
BE TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT KAREMOR INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Domain
Name Transferred